Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-04-2021, 09:34   #181
Registered User
 
sv_pelagia's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: British Columbia
Boat: Sceptre 41
Posts: 1,959
Re: Sat2Chart

Quote:
Originally Posted by Navacino View Post
Sorry Paul to bother you but I'm stuck. I downloaded again either G.E, version 7.3.3.7786 and Sat2chart V. 12.0.3.0 but nothing has changed after G.E. configuration. May be to "create a chart" with tile checked, G.E. and kap file or mb tiles was correct with the old version of G.E.?
Navacino: FYI, I access GE images using SASPLANET (use the one Paul supplies). Have you tried this route?

In truth, I find Bing and ArcGIS images (also on SASPlanet) much better than GE images most of the time. Have recently been making MANY image "charts" (with XYZ depths added) using both SASPlanet and sat2chart.
sv_pelagia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2021, 11:55   #182
Registered User
 
Navacino's Avatar

Join Date: May 2020
Location: ROMA
Boat: hunter 36
Posts: 20
Re: Sat2Chart

Quote:
Originally Posted by sv_pelagia View Post
Navacino: FYI, I access GE images using SASPLANET (use the one Paul supplies). Have you tried this route?

In truth, I find Bing and ArcGIS images (also on SASPlanet) much better than GE images most of the time. Have recently been making MANY image "charts" (with XYZ depths added) using both SASPlanet and sat2chart.
I'm also an user of SasPlanet with Bing maps,I have to confess, but it bother me a lot to know that some files could be corrupted.
Navacino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2021, 12:37   #183
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Davao, Philippines
Posts: 1,776
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: Sat2Chart

Navanico,

The Tile checkbox is disabled (grayed) when Google Earth is the source no matter if its an mbtiles or a kap. Its not supported.

Paul
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2021, 17:23   #184
Registered User
 
Jon Hacking's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Currently cruising the Philippines, just got back from PNG & Solomons
Boat: Wauquiez 45' (now 48') catamaran
Posts: 1,102
Images: 1
Send a message via Skype™ to Jon Hacking
Re: Sat2Chart

Quote:
Originally Posted by Navacino View Post
Sorry Paul to bother you but I'm stuck. I downloaded again either G.E, version 7.3.3.7786 and Sat2chart V. 12.0.3.0 but nothing has changed after G.E. configuration. May be to "create a chart" with tile checked, G.E. and kap file or mb tiles was correct with the old version of G.E.?
Navacino, GE no longer works for making KAPs or mbTiles.

GE2KAP started by making KAPs from GE, but then Google disabled the programming interface (API) in GE that GE2KAP needed. Paul could re-enable it for a while, but then Google ripped the API out entirely, so we all used an old version of GE. But now, Google is not allowing that old version of GE to access its servers at all.

SAS Planet offers access to the GE imagery, as well as Bing, ArcGIS, Nokia, & many others. And, as Pelagia noted, those are often better than GE. And mbTiles have several advantages over KAPs. So for the last few years, we've been using SAS Planet instead of GE, making mbTiles.
__________________
-- Jon Hacking s/v Ocelot
Jon Hacking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2021, 18:07   #185
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Davao, Philippines
Posts: 1,776
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: Sat2Chart

Jon you said:
Quote:
"Navacino, GE no longer works for making KAPs or mbTiles."
Not true. The capabilities of Sat2Chart are limited when the source is Google Earth but it can make make a mbtiles or a kap from what is displayed on GE Pro and it can create an overlay chart by overlaying opencpn, sasplanet or a calibrated image onto GE.

Paul
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2021, 06:19   #186
Registered User
 
Navacino's Avatar

Join Date: May 2020
Location: ROMA
Boat: hunter 36
Posts: 20
Re: Sat2Chart

Tanks.
Navacino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2021, 22:46   #187
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Davao, Philippines
Posts: 1,776
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: Sat2Chart

Sat2Chart.V12.0.4.0 is now available:

- Convert_Cache nows supports multiple concurrent cache managers
- Mbtiles_Viewer now can View/Edit the metadata
- Fixed - Merge_Mbtiles not freeing memory
- Fixed - Merging mbtiles will fail if the blobs are zero length

Here is the download link:
http://gdayii.ca/Downloads/Sat2Chart.V12.0.4.0.exe
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2021, 21:29   #188
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Davao, Philippines
Posts: 1,776
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: Sat2Chart

Sat2Chart.V12.0.5.0 is now available

- Adds New C-Map charts
- Fixes Nokia Here Sat
- Adds Aqua Maps (great for the Bahamas)
- Fixes charts that cross the 180 Meridian
- See the changelog for other fixes

Thanks to Geoff Roddick for the new maps. Also thanks to Terry Sargent and Jon Hacking for testing.

You will need to also install the updated Sasplanet to get the new maps available here: http://gdayii.ca/Downloads/Sasplanet.zip

Here is the link to the new version:
http://gdayii.ca/Downloads/Sat2Chart_Install.exe
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2021, 11:10   #189
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2021
Posts: 1
Re: Sat2Chart

Hello, I am currently using SAT2CHART version 12.0.5.0 and when I use google earth to create a .KAP chart I get this response:

Error: Not enough vertical grid lines, try zooming out
Error: Unable to create a chart of Google earth
Try increasing the typing delay in the Google earth Options
Error: Calibration Failed!
Error: R_Proc_Chart_Lists failed!

Any help is very much appreciated. Thank you

-Jeff
jeff.orlowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2021, 12:29   #190
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Davao, Philippines
Posts: 1,776
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: Sat2Chart

jeff.orlowski,

Please watch the Tutorial "Creating a Chart from Google Earth"

Since Google killed the API and prevented all old versions from accessing their server, the capabilities of Sat2Chart are very limited. Suggest you use SasPlanet instead.

Paul
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2021, 18:01   #191
Registered User
 
Jon Hacking's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Currently cruising the Philippines, just got back from PNG & Solomons
Boat: Wauquiez 45' (now 48') catamaran
Posts: 1,102
Images: 1
Send a message via Skype™ to Jon Hacking
Re: Sat2Chart

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff.orlowski View Post
Hello, I am currently using SAT2CHART version 12.0.5.0 and when I use google earth to create a .KAP chart I get [errors.]

Any help is very much appreciated. Thank you

-Jeff
Jeff, first, welcome to Cruisers Forum!

As Paul pointed out, he started by making KAPs from GE, but now he's able to get GE imagery from SAS Planet, so we no longer need GE.

Even better, SAS has access to lots of other cool imagery, like ArcGIS (which is awesome), Bing (Microsoft), Nokia, & a raft of others. SAS also has access to CMap & Navionics navigational charts. These aren't as accurate as the satellite imagery, but they have depths.

I think you'll find that mbTiles are much better than KAPs. KAPs are limited to 128 colors, while mbTiles have no color limits. This turns out to be important when scrutinizing the imagery looking for the shades of blue that tell of a good sandy anchorage.

MbTiles can also have several different zoom levels in them. This makes it very much easier for OpenCPN to display them, as it just extracts the appropriate zoom level for the user's current "elevation" & slams it out to the display system. With KAPs, you usually want as much detail as you can get, so I made mine at 2000m. But if the user is zoomed out a bit & trying to pan around an area, the OpenCPN display engine has to decide which 90% of the bits it has to throw out & which 10% it has to display, & this severely impacts performance. We use really large mbTiles (4GB, & we feed 5 of them to OpenCPN: ArcGIS, Bing, GE, CMap, & Navionics, so 20GB total) & we find that OpenCPN performance is still usable without having to switch back to our CM93 charts.
__________________
-- Jon Hacking s/v Ocelot
Jon Hacking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2021, 00:18   #192
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Davao, Philippines
Posts: 1,776
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: Sat2Chart

Sat2Chart.V13.0.0.0 is now available. Fixes:

- Convert_Cache utility now works when Source and Destination caches are SQLite3 format. This allows you to merge two caches.
- SasPlanet processing improved. Handles multiple polygon/paths faster.
- Unable to select XYZ files to add depths.
- Displays internal task processing when creating SasPlanet charts

You download it here:
http://gdayii.ca/Downloads/Sat2Chart_Install.exe

Copy and paste the link into your browser.
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2021, 01:35   #193
Registered User
 
Jon Hacking's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Currently cruising the Philippines, just got back from PNG & Solomons
Boat: Wauquiez 45' (now 48') catamaran
Posts: 1,102
Images: 1
Send a message via Skype™ to Jon Hacking
Re: Sat2Chart

I think I found an issue in 13.0.0.0.

I have multiple versions of SAS installed: 1 for Sat2Chart (downloaded from Gdayii), a newer SAS for Navigation, & a couple others for other work. To keep them straight, I rename the executable from SasPlanet.exe to "SAS for Sat2Chart.exe" (& etc) & then pin them to my taskbar so I can access them easily & tell them apart.

But my v13.0.0.0 run failed when Sat2Chart read the old SASPlanet.ini file instead of the SAS for Sat2Chart.ini file that SAS is using, & claimed that the cache was incorrect. It failed when the download completed & it wanted to create an mbTile, even though I have Sat2Chart set to SAS Planet creating the mbTiles, not Sat2Chart.

Why would Sat2Chart want to look as the SAS cache after a download?

This always used to work just fine, so it's something new.

BTW, the relevant chunk of the SasPlanet.ini (from Gdayii) reads:

Code:
TMSTiles=cache_tms\
GECache=C:\Users\phigg\AppData\LocalLow\Google\GoogleEarth\Cache\
GCCache=C:\
BDBCache=cache_db\
BDBVerCache=cache_dbv\
DBMSCache=SASGIS_DBMS\$
SQLiteCache=cache_sqlite\
PrimaryPath=.\
So there's some residual cruft in there. There's also a SASPlanet_Sqlite3.ini file in the download that's obviously a relic from the past that's no longer needed.

For the time being, I'll copy my SAS for Sat2Chart.ini to SASPlanet.ini, so Sat2Chart can pick up the correct settings. But you might want to look into why this showed up in this version, & why Sat2Chart needs to look at the SAS cache even when SAS is set to create the mbTiles.
__________________
-- Jon Hacking s/v Ocelot
Jon Hacking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2021, 14:04   #194
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Davao, Philippines
Posts: 1,776
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: Sat2Chart

Jon,

Sat2Chart has always read the SasPlanet.ini and other files using the "SasPlanet Location:" field in the Sat2Chart/SasPlanet options.

Reproduce the problem and send me the Sat2Chart.log and SasPlanet.ini file.
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2021, 12:26   #195
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Davao, Philippines
Posts: 1,776
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: Sat2Chart

Since I didn't receive any files from you, I assume this is fixed.

Also, my SasPlanet has the caches set to the default. You are expected to set them to your cache locations and type. If not Sat2Chart will fail after it does not find the cache location in the download windows. This is not new its been that way for a long time.
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SAT2CHART P_Dub OpenCPN 18 16-05-2024 01:52
sat2chart kap images low resolution Sailmonkey OpenCPN 3 16-10-2019 18:20
SAT2CHART can't create charts from polygons baltika_no_9 OpenCPN 7 22-04-2019 15:40

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:08.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.