Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-06-2021, 14:10   #196
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Davao, Philippines
Posts: 1,776
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: Sat2Chart

If you change the cache locations in SasPlanet you must recycle SasPlanet so the SasPlanet.ini is updated so Sat2Chart can get the new cache location. If you don't you will see the error you got. Beginner's error.
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2021, 17:40   #197
Registered User
 
Jon Hacking's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Currently cruising the Philippines, just got back from PNG & Solomons
Boat: Wauquiez 45' (now 48') catamaran
Posts: 1,102
Images: 1
Send a message via Skype™ to Jon Hacking
Re: Sat2Chart

This has taken some time to track down. But the short answer is that I'm running OK now.

It turns out that SAS Planet does not always load SasPlanet.ini. It loads [MyExecutableName].ini. So when I renamed my executable to SAS_for_Sat2Chart.exe, it went looking for SAS_for_Sat2Chart.ini. When it couldn't find one, it loaded up a set of internally defined defaults. It then saves those as SAS_for_Sat2Chart.ini when it shuts down.

For now, I just copy SAS_for_Sat2Chart.ini to SasPlanet.ini so Sat2Chart can pick it up. Not sure what you want to do about this, Paul.

This whole thing would be a lot easier (& I wouldn't have to rename my executable) if I could edit the shortcuts on my taskbar, to give my different versions of SAS different taskbar names without having to change the executable name. Windows used to allow this simply by right-clicking on the taskbar item, but now it doesn't seem to.

If anyone knows how & where taskbar shortcuts are stored, so they can be edited, I'd appreciate knowing.

Note that the SAS defaults do NOT include a definition for CTRL-F. The Sat2Chart Help says only that:
The [download] process can be done quicker if you define a hotkey for the download window.
It does not say that this hotkey is actually necessary, or that it has to be CTRL-F, since Sat2Chart depends on CTRL-F to tell SAS to load .HLG files for downloading content & making mbTiles.

But I ran a set of 31 GPX files against CMap_4D_Extra last night, & everything ran smoothly, so I'm OK for now.
__________________
-- Jon Hacking s/v Ocelot
Jon Hacking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2021, 17:54   #198
Registered User
 
Jon Hacking's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Currently cruising the Philippines, just got back from PNG & Solomons
Boat: Wauquiez 45' (now 48') catamaran
Posts: 1,102
Images: 1
Send a message via Skype™ to Jon Hacking
Re: Sat2Chart

OK, just answered my own question. It's in:
C:\Users\[UserName]\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Quick Launch\User Pinned\TaskBar
Yeah, I'd have looked there next...

There I can edit my taskbar shortcuts so the name that appears as I mouse over a taskbar icon doesn't have to be the executable name. So now I can reset my SAS executable back to SasPlanet.exe & avoid all the confusion.
__________________
-- Jon Hacking s/v Ocelot
Jon Hacking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2021, 19:28   #199
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Davao, Philippines
Posts: 1,776
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: Sat2Chart

Quote:
Note that the SAS defaults do NOT include a definition for CTRL-F. The Sat2Chart Help says only that:
The [download] process can be done quicker if you define a hotkey for the download window.
It does not say that this hotkey is actually necessary, or that it has to be CTRL-F, since Sat2Chart depends on CTRL-F to tell SAS to load .HLG files for downloading content & making mbTiles.
Jon,

It is not necessary to define the Ctrl+F for the Open but when it is defined it will try to use it otherwise it will use a combination of keys to bring up the Open Window which takes longer. You had the Open Ctrl+F defined in your SasPlanet, I log it when I check the SasPlanet.ini. The problem is you cannot have any other keys or maps defined to also use Ctrl+ F as these will override the Open Ctrl+F and it will fail to bring up an Open window and Sat2Chart will fail.

You have obviously found the other map or key that was using Ctrl+F and eliminated it or Sat2Chart would not be working now.
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2021, 01:31   #200
Registered User
 
Jon Hacking's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Currently cruising the Philippines, just got back from PNG & Solomons
Boat: Wauquiez 45' (now 48') catamaran
Posts: 1,102
Images: 1
Send a message via Skype™ to Jon Hacking
Re: Sat2Chart

Quote:
Originally Posted by phiggins View Post
Jon, ... You have obviously found the other map or key that was using Ctrl+F and eliminated it or Sat2Chart would not be working now.
Paul, I do wish you could learn to trust your testers.

My Ctrl-F was never defined, as I tried to tell you. The reason I took an extra day to respond here was that I was trying to work out why I got the results I did.

What I think happened is that since my SAS was renamed SAS_for_Sat2Chart.exe (so I could tell my different SASs apart), it was using SAS_for_Sat2Chart.INI, not SasPlanet.INI. But Sat2Chart didn't know that, so it was reading SasPlanet.INI & finding that Ctrl-F was defined in there.

So Sat2Chart was trying to send a Ctrl-F to my SAS. Since it wasn't defined in my SAS_for_Sat2Chart at the time, the whole thing just hung, causing no end of confusion & misunderstandings. I don't think either of us was expecting SAS to use a different INI file just because the executable was renamed. I certainly wasn't.

If one of my maps had been defined as Ctrl-F, then that map would have come up. But in fact, nothing happened, since there was no Ctrl-F defined in my SAS_for_Sat2Chart, despite what the SasPlanet.INI file said.

Now that I know how to, I'll rename my SAS_for_Sat2Chart.exe back to SasPlanet.exe & directly edit my taskbar shortcut so I can tell my SAS's apart. Then my SAS will be using SasPlanet.INI, just as Sat2Chart expects, & everything should work as expected.

Hopefully we can put this all behind us now.
__________________
-- Jon Hacking s/v Ocelot
Jon Hacking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2021, 22:53   #201
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Davao, Philippines
Posts: 1,776
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: Sat2Chart

Quote:
Paul, I do wish you could learn to trust your testers.
Jon, for 3 weeks while trying to figure out your problem you never once said "oh by the way I modified SasPlanet".

Now you display yourself as the genius who figured out the problem because you renamed the SasPlanet.exe and "Paul you couldn't figure it out but I did".

I don't need that kind of tester.
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2021, 13:42   #202
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Davao, Philippines
Posts: 1,776
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: Sat2Chart

Sat2Chart.V13.0.1.0 is now available fixes:

- New download link for OORexx in Help so all browsers work.
- Merge function not working.
- Creating unquilted Kap charts from SasPlanet not working.

Here is the download link:

http://gdayii.ca/Downloads/Sat2Chart_Install.exe
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2021, 10:00   #203
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Seattle, WA
Boat: Moody 40 CC
Posts: 25
Re: Sat2Chart

Paul, trying to install SAT2CHART, and following your instructions on the website. I tried downloading and installing the ooRexx from the link, but my virus scanner deleted it flagging it as a virus. So I downloaded the latest version from SourceForge - 4.2.0 (32 bit).

When I run SAT2CHART it tells me that ooRexx is not installed or the wrong version is installed. Should I be installing a different version than 4.2.0?

Oh - and thank you for all the work you do on this.

Thanks

John
JohnEvans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2021, 15:56   #204
Registered User
 
yachtvalhalla's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Philippines
Boat: Formerly Fuji 32 Ketch
Posts: 1,020
Re: Sat2Chart

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnEvans View Post
So I downloaded the latest version from SourceForge - 4.2.0 (32 bit).

John, In case Paul doesn't see this soon try this link from his website.


http://www.gdayii.ca/Downloads/Open%20Object%20Rexx.exe


Terry
yachtvalhalla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2021, 18:03   #205
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Davao, Philippines
Posts: 1,776
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: Sat2Chart

John,

You have to use version 5 of OOrexx, V4.2.0 will not work?

What Window version and what virus scanner? Is your Windows version up to date as far security fixes.
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2021, 18:04   #206
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Seattle, WA
Boat: Moody 40 CC
Posts: 25
Re: Sat2Chart

Thanks Terry, but that is the link that my virus checker deleted as a virus
JohnEvans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2021, 23:05   #207
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Seattle, WA
Boat: Moody 40 CC
Posts: 25
Re: Sat2Chart

Thanks Paul,

I was able to find version 5 on SourceForge. Installed it and ran SAT2CHART but then my virus scanner kicked in and stopped rexxhide.exe from running and quarantined it as a virus. I'm running McAfee with up to date files. I'm running Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit

Troublesome

Thanks

John
JohnEvans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2021, 23:48   #208
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Davao, Philippines
Posts: 1,776
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: Sat2Chart

John,

Its a false positive. Unquarantine and restore the the rexxhide.exe
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2021, 02:54   #209
Registered User
 
Jon Hacking's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Currently cruising the Philippines, just got back from PNG & Solomons
Boat: Wauquiez 45' (now 48') catamaran
Posts: 1,102
Images: 1
Send a message via Skype™ to Jon Hacking
Re: Sat2Chart

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnEvans View Post
... I'm running McAfee with up to date files. I'm running Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit

Thanks, John
John, McAfee pays computer makers to put their virus checker on computers, & then gives the users 3-12 months free. They do this so they can charge them after that.

Windows has a very capable anti-virus/firewall built in (for free), called Windows Defender. I'd seriously recommend that you uninstall McAfee & just use Defender. It also gets updated with new virus signatures every week or 2, & the MSFT folks know a lot more about the internals of Windows than any outside company. MSFT also gets the viruses earlier than anyone else because the virus makers SEND them to MSFT, just to jerk their chain. Yes, really.

Also, if you're just starting out making mbTiles, I've just released a new How-To page for Making mbTiles that you might find interesting.
__________________
-- Jon Hacking s/v Ocelot
Jon Hacking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2021, 02:38   #210
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2021
Posts: 5
Re: Sat2Chart

Hello,
Thank you for the wonderful software!

I'm trying to use sat2chart to create a chart from Google Earth. I'm having an issue with sat2chart being unable to decode the coordinates of the visible chart and crashing.
I tried changing the coordinate format in Degree+Decimals, Degree+Minute.decimals and Degree-Minutes-Seconds. None of them work, and they crash in different parts of the program. It's probably because on my system, the text field is represented differently. I have set the Google Earth interface to English(US) tough.
Below is a sample log from the error:

Code:
11:25:04.351000 index=Google Earth dt=title=Google Earth Prohandle=0x000A0B92class=Qt5QWindowIconid=0process=14384status=Enabled Visible Zoomed 
11:25:04.351000 index=Sat2Chart dt=title=Sat2Chart V13.0.1.0handle=0x0032176Cclass=#32770id=0process=18744status=Enabled Visible 
11:25:04.351000 index=SASPLANET dt=title=SAS.Planet 201212.10106 Stablehandle=0x00030C18class=TfrmMainid=0process=13848status=Enabled Visible Zoomed 
11:25:04.351000 index=ERROR dt=title=Errorhandle=0x001B093Eclass=#32770id=0process=18744status=Enabled Visible 
11:25:04.351000 index=GEPRO_PLACEMARK dt=title=Google Earth - New Placemarkhandle=0x00080BB2class=Qt5QWindowToolSaveBitsid=0process=14384status=Enabled Visible Foreground 
11:25:04.351000 R_Get_GE_Image found the New Placemark window state=Enabled Visible Foreground  handle=0x00080BB2
11:25:06.265000 R_Copy_It Entered usefast=1 ctrlc_msg=<CTRL>C
11:25:06.706000 R_Get_GE_Image latitude=43 57.079'N
11:25:06.708000 ERROR: SYNTAX occurred at line:33169 
Content of line: 
 s = abs(d) + (m + s / 60.0) / 60.0; 
ERRORTEXT:Incorrect call to method.
11:25:06.708000 Logerror flushing the log
11:25:06.708000 Flush_log flushing the log, terminate=0 directory=C:\SAT2CHART\SAT2CHART.V13.0.1.0
11:26:09.164000 Cancel flushing and terminating the log
11:26:09.164000 Flush_log flushing the log, terminate=1 directory=C:\SAT2CHART\SAT2CHART.V13.0.1.0
And here's another sample with degrees+decimals:
Code:
11:41:11.061000 NA=aaaa
11:41:11.172000 R_Get_GE_Image Window=Enabled Visible Zoomed Foreground  coordinates=-8,-8,2568,1418
11:41:11.172000 R_Get_GE_Image Render state=Enabled Visible  coordinates=0,43,2560,1410
11:41:11.172000 R_Get_GE_Image Sending 1. to Google Earth:R
11:41:11.486000 R_Get_GE_Image Issuing:<CTRL+SHIFT>P
11:41:11.800000 R_Get_GE_Image issuing ListWindows
11:41:11.809000 index=Google Earth dt=title=Google Earth Prohandle=0x000A0B92class=Qt5QWindowIconid=0process=14384status=Enabled Visible Zoomed 
11:41:11.809000 index=Sat2Chart dt=title=Sat2Chart V13.0.1.0handle=0x000A1752class=#32770id=0process=5132status=Enabled Visible 
11:41:11.809000 index=SASPLANET dt=title=SAS.Planet 201212.10106 Stablehandle=0x00030C18class=TfrmMainid=0process=13848status=Enabled Visible Zoomed 
11:41:11.809000 index=GEPRO_PLACEMARK dt=title=Google Earth - New Placemarkhandle=0x00080BB2class=Qt5QWindowToolSaveBitsid=0process=14384status=Enabled Visible Foreground 
11:41:11.809000 R_Get_GE_Image found the New Placemark window state=Enabled Visible Foreground  handle=0x00080BB2
11:41:13.721000 R_Copy_It Entered usefast=1 ctrlc_msg=<CTRL>C
11:41:14.156000 R_Copy_It Returning:43.951317
11:41:14.156000 R_Get_GE_Image latitude=43.951317
11:41:14.158000 ERROR: SYNTAX occurred at line:27469 
Content of line: 
 latitude = R_fromDMS(comm.,self,latitude)~format(3,6)~strip 
ERRORTEXT:Incorrect call to method.
11:41:14.158000 Logerror flushing the log
11:41:14.158000 Flush_log flushing the log, terminate=0 directory=C:\SAT2CHART\SAT2CHART.V13.0.1.0
11:41:16.669000 Cancel flushing and terminating the log
11:41:16.669000 Flush_log flushing the log, terminate=1 directory=C:\SAT2CHART\SAT2CHART.V13.0.1.0
Any hints?
Gynda is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SAT2CHART P_Dub OpenCPN 18 16-05-2024 01:52
sat2chart kap images low resolution Sailmonkey OpenCPN 3 16-10-2019 18:20
SAT2CHART can't create charts from polygons baltika_no_9 OpenCPN 7 22-04-2019 15:40

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:21.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.