Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-06-2023, 16:22   #346
Registered User
 
yachtvalhalla's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Philippines
Boat: Formerly Fuji 32 Ketch
Posts: 1,020
Re: Sat2Chart

Quote:
Originally Posted by Belized View Post
Just got a new boat computer, Windows 11. OpenCPN working good, displays MTiles that I have from the good sources that are on-line. (Thx Terry)

I want to make my own, but it looks like Sat2Chart does not work on W11?? Is that true?
Will SAS work w/ W11?
Any other advice? Thx in advance.
They both work on W11.



Need help installing? Try this: https://www.mediafire.com/file_premi...uter.docx/file


Terry
yachtvalhalla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2023, 15:07   #347
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Aboard. Rebak, Malaysia
Boat: FP Belize, 43
Posts: 2
Re: Sat2Chart

I have been lurking & surfing for a few years... Lots of good stuff in this forum!
Both programs are working good on W11 for me, now to learn the finer details & get used to using them.
Thank you Jon, Terry, & Paul for all your efforts & advice.
Cheers, Steve
Belized is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2023, 10:21   #348
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: MED
Boat: Lagoon 42
Posts: 12
Re: Sat2Chart

Tried this on Window 11 and it does not work.

It starts doing its thing and after a while it opens a exporer window, starts searching and then fails like this:

Processing Outstanding Requests:, please wait
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
Total Charts processed:0 of 1 HLGs Queued=0
Memory Usage:77 MB

Position the mouse over the column names to see an explanation
Cirion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2023, 10:22   #349
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: MED
Boat: Lagoon 42
Posts: 12
Re: Sat2Chart

Error: unable to complete SasPlanet request.
If SasPlanet is in Full Screen Mode, turn it off
Try increasing the Typing Delay in the the Options panel
SasPlanet may need to be restarted.
Error: unable to complete SasPlanet request.
If SasPlanet is in Full Screen Mode, turn it off
Try increasing the Typing Delay in the the Options panel
SasPlanet may need to be restarted.
Error: unable to complete SasPlanet request.
If SasPlanet is in Full Screen Mode, turn it off
Try increasing the Typing Delay in the the Options panel
SasPlanet may need to be restarted.
Error: unable to complete SasPlanet request.
If SasPlanet is in Full Screen Mode, turn it off
Try increasing the Typing Delay in the the Options panel
SasPlanet may need to be restarted.
Error: unable to complete SasPlanet request.
If SasPlanet is in Full Screen Mode, turn it off
Try increasing the Typing Delay in the the Options panel
SasPlanet may need to be restarted.
Cirion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2023, 12:35   #350
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Davao, Philippines
Posts: 1,776
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: Sat2Chart

Cirion,
Are you using the SasPlanet from my site? Have you tried the suggestions in the error message like increasing the typing delay in the Sat2Chart/Google Earth options?

If you are not using my SasPlanet download and unzip it from following link and follow the instructions in the Help/SasPlanet section:
https://www.gdayii.ca/Downloads/Sasplanet.zip

Paul
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2023, 14:19   #351
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: MED
Boat: Lagoon 42
Posts: 12
Re: Sat2Chart

I followed this video:


And I'm not using Google Earth, and I did not find the "typing delay" option.
I'm using sasplanet from https://www.gdayii.ca/Downloads/ so it's the same.
Cirion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2023, 14:51   #352
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: MED
Boat: Lagoon 42
Posts: 12
Re: Sat2Chart

I figured it out, I had to mess up my windows...

I guessed it was something with keyboar shortcuts, and they are different with language.

Downloaded and installet English Britith language pack and set my language and keyboard to that, and it worked.
Cirion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2023, 17:08   #353
Registered User
 
Jon Hacking's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Currently cruising the Philippines, just got back from PNG & Solomons
Boat: Wauquiez 45' (now 48') catamaran
Posts: 1,102
Images: 1
Send a message via Skype™ to Jon Hacking
Re: Sat2Chart

Paul, this is not the first time this has happened. You probably mention in the manual somewhere that your computer needs to be in English to make your shortcuts work, but with Sat2Chart's use expanding to non-English-Speaking countries, perhaps you need to elevate that message.

Can you test for this in Sat2Chart, so you can display a warning?
__________________
-- Jon Hacking s/v Ocelot
Jon Hacking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2023, 22:49   #354
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: MED
Boat: Lagoon 42
Posts: 12
Re: Sat2Chart

Now I have a .mbtiles file, and added it to OpenCPN.
I now get a red square around the island I downloaded the map for.

How do I see the map?

I only see the red square at any zoom level.
Cirion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2023, 23:42   #355
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: MED
Boat: Lagoon 42
Posts: 12
Re: Sat2Chart

Oh, finally getting somewhere. OpenGL must be enabeled in OpenCPN, but Window 11 has removed OpenGL from the drivers...

Manually installed the latest Gfx driver for my CPU, to get OpenCL support.
Now I could enable Accellerated Gfx in OpenCPN
Cirion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2023, 08:20   #356
Registered User
 
Jon Hacking's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Currently cruising the Philippines, just got back from PNG & Solomons
Boat: Wauquiez 45' (now 48') catamaran
Posts: 1,102
Images: 1
Send a message via Skype™ to Jon Hacking
Re: Sat2Chart

Cirion, mbTiles typically start turned OFF. You have to look at the "piano-keys" at the bottom-left of your screen. You should see some maroon bars down there, each one with a tiny X at the left edge. Clicking on those maroon bars should remove the X & turn that mbTile on.

Note that if your mbTiles overlap (like when you make several mbTiles of the same area, but using different maps, like ArcGIS, Bing, Google, etc) then only the left-most active mbTile will display. This is why most of us who use mbTiles this way put them into "Chart-Groups" in OpenCPN, so we can switch between them with only a single keystroke.

Glad you're making progress!
__________________
-- Jon Hacking s/v Ocelot
Jon Hacking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2023, 10:14   #357
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Ireland
Posts: 469
Re: Sat2Chart

The issue with only the left most mbtiles image being shown will be fixed in the next release.
AedanC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2023, 10:21   #358
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Ireland
Posts: 469
Re: Sat2Chart

Ie, in 5.8.4 released a very short time ago
AedanC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2023, 13:32   #359
Registered User
 
Jon Hacking's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Currently cruising the Philippines, just got back from PNG & Solomons
Boat: Wauquiez 45' (now 48') catamaran
Posts: 1,102
Images: 1
Send a message via Skype™ to Jon Hacking
Re: Sat2Chart

Quote:
Originally Posted by AedanC View Post
The issue with only the left most mbtiles image being shown will be fixed in the next release.
Thanks for this, Aedan. But what does "fixed" mean?

My mbTiles, made from SAS Planet imagery, have the exact same borders. I typically make them using ArcGIS, Bing, Google, Cmap, & Navionics imagery. Since they exactly overlap, & since none of them have any transparent areas, only one can display at a time.

Which one will that be?

No criticism here. It's just that I've become used to how OpenCPN works, & I want to learn how it's going to change, as I try to teach others how to use OpenCPN with mbTiles.

Thanks!
__________________
-- Jon Hacking s/v Ocelot
Jon Hacking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2023, 15:09   #360
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Davao, Philippines
Posts: 1,776
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: Sat2Chart

Jon Hacking, Cirion,

I added in Sat2Chart.16.05.0 an error message saying:
"Error: The keyboard must be QWERTY
Since Cirion did not tell what version of Sat2Chart he was on and did not send me the log I was unable to check if he got this error message.

Paul
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SAT2CHART P_Dub OpenCPN 18 16-05-2024 01:52
sat2chart kap images low resolution Sailmonkey OpenCPN 3 16-10-2019 18:20
SAT2CHART can't create charts from polygons baltika_no_9 OpenCPN 7 22-04-2019 15:40

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:22.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.