Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-09-2013, 19:34   #406
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,386
Re: Google Earth Plugin

Tracker VOTING for Plugins has been enabled by Serge. Please VOTE in Tracker for all Plugin projects (upper right dropdown) for the Feature requests you'd like. Also please do make comments and add Feature Requests and Bug Reports. You'll need to register or log in to Vote, add items and make comments.

Tracker VOTING.
Google Earth

__________________

__________________
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 18:28   #407
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Boat: Irwin 37 CC
Posts: 660
Re: Google Earth Plugin

I'm running GE 7.1.1.1888 on Windows 7. I can't seem to find the Cache files. Anybody know where they're hidden?
__________________

__________________
David Kester
Pegasus IV
wdkester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2013, 08:42   #408
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Boat: Irwin 37 CC
Posts: 660
Re: Google Earth Plugin

Quote:
Originally Posted by wdkester View Post
I'm running GE 7.1.1.1888 on Windows 7. I can't seem to find the Cache files. Anybody know where they're hidden?
:/Users/ User Name / AppData/LocalLow/Google/GoogleEarth/unified_cache_leveldb_leveldb2

However there is a whole new cache scheme that can easily fill your disk in a few minutes, even when working properly. (It may still have bugs).

You can load old versions (I chose 6.1.0.5001 as 6.2 seems to be a beta) from Old Version of Google Earth Download - OldApps.com . I havent tested this offline with my saved cache files.
__________________
David Kester
Pegasus IV
wdkester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2013, 15:37   #409
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Boat: Irwin 37 CC
Posts: 660
Re: Google Earth Plugin

GE 6.1.0.5001 doesn't seem to work with my old caches. It does seem to work with caches caches it generates.
__________________
David Kester
Pegasus IV
wdkester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2013, 08:29   #410
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,386
Re: Google Earth Plugin

Note:Tracker Project for Google Earth Plugin
OpenCPN::Tracker All Projects: Tasklist
__________________
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2014, 17:01   #411
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 22
Re: Google Earth Plugin

Hi everyone can anyone tell me where to find the .dll file for the google earth plugin? I've downloaded and extracted the file but it didn't come with the dll file. I'm sorry if this has been discussed before I attempted to use the search feature and didn't have any luck.
__________________
zbay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2015, 10:35   #412
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: On Vessel WINGS, wherever there's an ocean, currently in Mexico
Boat: Serendipity 43
Posts: 78
Send a message via AIM to wingssail Send a message via Skype™ to wingssail
Re: Google Earth Plugin missing Google Earth.msi

Seems like a lot of stuff written here about GE and I've read through it, but somehow I must have missed something:

I can't get GE plugin to work. I get the download (gecomapi_pi-1.0-win32.exe), which executes fine, then the icon shows up on OpenCPN, but when I click on it I get into an install process which fails due to a missing msi (C:\Windows\Temp\._msige61\Google Earth.msi), and no GE map appears.

BTW, I am running a 64bit machine with win 8.1. Should I be downloading a different GE Plugin? If so, where do I find that? I have OpenCPN 3.2.2 and GE installed on my machine ver 7.1.2.2041 which works fine outside of OpenCPN.

Or otherwise, any idea what might the problem be?

Fred Roswold, SV Wings, Puerto Vallarta
__________________
wingssail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2015, 10:49   #413
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,017
Re: Google Earth Plugin

Fred...
Did you have older GE versions installed before? It seems that when the plugin asks Windows for the GE object, it tries to give it one that belongs to a version that does not exist anymore...
As little as it matters, it is a problem of GE, not ours. I will try to get hold of some Windows machine and break it the same way to see if there's something that can be done about it from our side, but it will take some time.

Pavel
__________________
nohal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2015, 13:19   #414
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: On Vessel WINGS, wherever there's an ocean, currently in Mexico
Boat: Serendipity 43
Posts: 78
Send a message via AIM to wingssail Send a message via Skype™ to wingssail
Re: Google Earth Plugin

Thanks, I'll wait to see what you find.
__________________
wingssail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2015, 15:38   #415
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,386
Re: Google Earth Plugin

Tracker Project for Google Earth moved:
OpenCPN::Tracker pi - Google Earth: Tasklist
__________________
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2015, 07:00   #416
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 4,024
Re: Google Earth Plugin

Now that Google Earth Pro is free is there a way to use it instead of Google Earth?
__________________
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2015, 07:28   #417
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,017
Re: Google Earth Plugin

Dan...
What exactly does GE Pro have for our application? Doesn't it work out of the box? I suppose it should - don't think it has another CLSID as far as I remember the API.

Pavel
__________________
nohal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2015, 12:15   #418
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 4,024
Re: Google Earth Plugin

GE Pro has better resolution imagery as I understand. Plus, I didn't want to have to install GE and GE Pro. I can't get GE Pro to display anything in the plugin window. Have uninstalled GE for now.
__________________

__________________
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
google earth

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Google Earth ? phiggins Navigation 53 31-03-2012 21:39
Editing in Google Earth sinbad7 OpenCPN 5 16-02-2011 16:10
Google Earth beau Navigation 1 24-07-2010 03:10
Turkey Blocks Google Earth & Google Maps MarkJ Europe & Mediterranean 7 04-07-2010 13:30



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:44.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.