Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-09-2013, 18:34   #406
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 17,730
Images: 2
Re: Google Earth Plugin

Tracker VOTING for Plugins has been enabled by Serge. Please VOTE in Tracker for all Plugin projects (upper right dropdown) for the Feature requests you'd like. Also please do make comments and add Feature Requests and Bug Reports. You'll need to register or log in to Vote, add items and make comments.

Tracker VOTING.
Google Earth

rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 17:28   #407
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Boat: Irwin 37 CC
Posts: 665
Re: Google Earth Plugin

I'm running GE 7.1.1.1888 on Windows 7. I can't seem to find the Cache files. Anybody know where they're hidden?
__________________
David Kester
Pegasus IV
wdkester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2013, 07:42   #408
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Boat: Irwin 37 CC
Posts: 665
Re: Google Earth Plugin

Quote:
Originally Posted by wdkester View Post
I'm running GE 7.1.1.1888 on Windows 7. I can't seem to find the Cache files. Anybody know where they're hidden?
:/Users/ User Name / AppData/LocalLow/Google/GoogleEarth/unified_cache_leveldb_leveldb2

However there is a whole new cache scheme that can easily fill your disk in a few minutes, even when working properly. (It may still have bugs).

You can load old versions (I chose 6.1.0.5001 as 6.2 seems to be a beta) from Old Version of Google Earth Download - OldApps.com . I havent tested this offline with my saved cache files.
__________________
David Kester
Pegasus IV
wdkester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2013, 14:37   #409
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Boat: Irwin 37 CC
Posts: 665
Re: Google Earth Plugin

GE 6.1.0.5001 doesn't seem to work with my old caches. It does seem to work with caches caches it generates.
__________________
David Kester
Pegasus IV
wdkester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2013, 07:29   #410
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 17,730
Images: 2
Re: Google Earth Plugin

Note:Tracker Project for Google Earth Plugin
OpenCPN::Tracker All Projects: Tasklist
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2014, 16:01   #411
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 22
Re: Google Earth Plugin

Hi everyone can anyone tell me where to find the .dll file for the google earth plugin? I've downloaded and extracted the file but it didn't come with the dll file. I'm sorry if this has been discussed before I attempted to use the search feature and didn't have any luck.
zbay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2015, 09:35   #412
Registered User
 
wingssail's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: On Vessel WINGS, wherever there's an ocean, currently in Mexico
Boat: Serendipity 43
Posts: 5,523
Send a message via AIM to wingssail Send a message via Skype™ to wingssail
Re: Google Earth Plugin missing Google Earth.msi

Seems like a lot of stuff written here about GE and I've read through it, but somehow I must have missed something:

I can't get GE plugin to work. I get the download (gecomapi_pi-1.0-win32.exe), which executes fine, then the icon shows up on OpenCPN, but when I click on it I get into an install process which fails due to a missing msi (C:\Windows\Temp\._msige61\Google Earth.msi), and no GE map appears.

BTW, I am running a 64bit machine with win 8.1. Should I be downloading a different GE Plugin? If so, where do I find that? I have OpenCPN 3.2.2 and GE installed on my machine ver 7.1.2.2041 which works fine outside of OpenCPN.

Or otherwise, any idea what might the problem be?

Fred Roswold, SV Wings, Puerto Vallarta
wingssail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2015, 09:49   #413
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Tierra del Fuego
Boat: Phantom 19
Posts: 6,234
Re: Google Earth Plugin

Fred...
Did you have older GE versions installed before? It seems that when the plugin asks Windows for the GE object, it tries to give it one that belongs to a version that does not exist anymore...
As little as it matters, it is a problem of GE, not ours. I will try to get hold of some Windows machine and break it the same way to see if there's something that can be done about it from our side, but it will take some time.

Pavel
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2015, 12:19   #414
Registered User
 
wingssail's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: On Vessel WINGS, wherever there's an ocean, currently in Mexico
Boat: Serendipity 43
Posts: 5,523
Send a message via AIM to wingssail Send a message via Skype™ to wingssail
Re: Google Earth Plugin

Thanks, I'll wait to see what you find.
wingssail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2015, 14:38   #415
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 17,730
Images: 2
Re: Google Earth Plugin

Tracker Project for Google Earth moved:
OpenCPN::Tracker pi - Google Earth: Tasklist
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2015, 06:00   #416
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 6,008
Re: Google Earth Plugin

Now that Google Earth Pro is free is there a way to use it instead of Google Earth?
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2015, 06:28   #417
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Tierra del Fuego
Boat: Phantom 19
Posts: 6,234
Re: Google Earth Plugin

Dan...
What exactly does GE Pro have for our application? Doesn't it work out of the box? I suppose it should - don't think it has another CLSID as far as I remember the API.

Pavel
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2015, 11:15   #418
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 6,008
Re: Google Earth Plugin

GE Pro has better resolution imagery as I understand. Plus, I didn't want to have to install GE and GE Pro. I can't get GE Pro to display anything in the plugin window. Have uninstalled GE for now.
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 00:06   #419
Registered User
 
Gilletarom's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Boat: 10.50 mètres
Posts: 3,008
Re: Google Earth Plugin

Hello Pavel,

I go back this old thread about Google Earth to talk about the GE plugin with O5.0.

1)
On the one hand, I remind you that the GE plugin only works with an older version of Google Earth. This one: googleearth-win-bundle-7.1.2.2041.1

It's still here at Phiggins here: Index of /Downloads

It will be soon also in the French website : http://opencpn.fr/__OpenCPN_5_PC/4_Plus_loin/P_09_GE_Google_Earth/P_09_GE_Google_earth.htm, in the page related to the GE plugin.

2)
I tested this plugin in its new version. Great!

It gets along well with O5.0, especially when using two canvas. In this case, after hanging GE on the right, the screen is divided into 3 parts, left both canvas and right GE.
Just click on the left canvas and GE displays the view of the left canvas.

If we click in the right canvas, GE displays the view of the right canvas.

However, sometimes you have to manually move the map area of ​​the right canvas for GE to move from the view of the right canvas and then GE display right canvas.


3) But after the bravo, we must also say what is wrong. In France we say "who likes, criticizes well".
a)
When GE is docked to the right, with two canvas, the horizontal specific icon bar of the right canvas, sometimes appears on GE or under that of the left canvas (as on one of the screenshots attached).

b)
It is very difficult, and even impossible to pick up the plugin once it is docked.

There is a trick that works with the Dashboard plugin for getting a Dashboard. (right click on the top, then context mnu with command "Pick up").
Would it be possible to have the same opportunity with GE?

c)
It should be possible to benefit from transparency by superposition. For that, it would be necessary to superpose GE exactly on a Canvas. But, I did not get there. So ???

Or, it would be necessary that the active canvas also appears on or under GE ????
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2019-04-11 08_29_42-.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	421.7 KB
ID:	189887   Click image for larger version

Name:	2019-04-11 08_30_07-.jpg
Views:	90
Size:	409.7 KB
ID:	189889  

Click image for larger version

Name:	2019-04-11 08_29_31-Paramètres.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	405.0 KB
ID:	189890  
Gilletarom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 01:23   #420
Registered User
 
Franziska's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Panschwitz, Germany
Boat: Woods Mira 35 Catamaran
Posts: 4,352
Re: Google Earth Plugin

Ca c'est magnifique !

Thanks for providing the download link for the old Google Earth version.

One thing I am wondering though, if we do not upgrade GE to the new version, is this likely to work long-term?
Can Google mess this up?

By the way, this is an interesting resource too (despite costing money at higher res...)

https://openmaptiles.com/satellite/

One question to the plugin. Can I permanently prevent Google Earth from tilting into 3D when zooming in?
I am aware that I can tilt it back manually, but it's a pain to do so every time.

ANSWER :-) Yes we can. Under Tools, go to Options, go to Navigation, go to lower right & tick Do not tilt. Save your settings.
__________________
www.ladyrover.com
Franziska is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
google earth

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Google Earth ? phiggins Navigation 53 31-03-2012 20:39
Editing in Google Earth sinbad7 OpenCPN 5 16-02-2011 15:10
Google Earth beau Navigation 1 24-07-2010 02:10
Turkey Blocks Google Earth & Google Maps MarkJ Europe & Mediterranean 7 04-07-2010 12:30

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 20:04.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.