Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-11-2016, 07:09   #1861
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St. Petersburg, Florida
Boat: Gemini 3200
Posts: 701
Re: OpenCPN Books - Supplimentary Software location

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgleason View Post
The Supplementary Software "Book" has somehow moved magically to be inside of the "OpenCPN User Manual "Book".
Isn't it just a matter of going to the Supplementary Software page, selecting the "Outline" tab, and changing the Book from "OpenCPN User Manual" to "<create a new book>"? Then click on "Update Book Outline".

I would expect that to move the Supplementary Software page back where it was and all the child pages would move with it.

How are those pages backed up in case something doesn't work?

Fabbian
__________________

__________________
fgd3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2016, 16:06   #1862
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 3,901
Re: Beta Test / Technical

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdbcat View Post
jon...

Busy spinner troubles...yep.
On the list....

Dave
Dave,

This patch corrected the mismatched busy spinner problem for me:

Code:
diff --git a/src/chcanv.cpp b/src/chcanv.cpp
index 7b5a8ee..5b12939 100644
--- a/src/chcanv.cpp
+++ b/src/chcanv.cpp
@@ -9547,7 +9547,7 @@ void ChartCanvas::OnPaint( wxPaintEvent& event )
     dc.DestroyClippingRegion();

     PaintCleanup();
-    OCPNPlatform::HideBusySpinner();
+//    OCPNPlatform::HideBusySpinner();
 //      CALLGRIND_STOP_INSTRUMENTATION

 }
diff --git a/src/s57chart.cpp b/src/s57chart.cpp
index 88076e1..6a69917 100644
--- a/src/s57chart.cpp
+++ b/src/s57chart.cpp
@@ -3227,6 +3227,7 @@ InitReturn s57chart::Init( const wxString& name, ChartInitFlag flags )
             } else
                 ret_value = PostInit( flags, m_global_color_scheme );

+            OCPNPlatform::HideBusySpinner();
         }

     }
@@ -3236,10 +3237,9 @@ InitReturn s57chart::Init( const wxString& name, ChartInitFlag flags )

         m_SENCFileName = m_TempFilePath;
         ret_value = PostInit( flags, m_global_color_scheme );
+        OCPNPlatform::HideBusySpinner();

     }
-
-    OCPNPlatform::HideBusySpinner();

     s_bInS57--;
     return ret_value;
__________________

__________________
transmitterdan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2016, 23:16   #1863
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 8,995
Re: Beta Test / Technical

Yes, Fabbian that's what I started to do and thought, no, I could loose the whole thing this way. So I guess I'll try to just create a new book (if this is possible) and then move each sub-page into that book, because I am hesitant to just do the obvious move.
Thanks for thinking about this..
Maybe, I could make a dummy new page, then create a new book called "Test" and see what happens. Then having done that, have more confidence to do what you suggest.
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2016, 15:19   #1864
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 8,995
Re: Beta Test / Technical

Fabbian, I think it worked. Just have to remove the test book now. Thanks.
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2016, 13:29   #1865
Registered User

Join Date: May 2013
Location: NSW, Australia
Boat: Richter 42
Posts: 874
Re: Beta Test / Technical

Hi,
I am building OCPN and the plugins on Ubuntu 16.04 which uses GCC 5 and, in particular, libstdc++.so.0.21, however, when trying to run on Ubuntu 15.10 there is an issue, the version of libstdc++ is 19, so it appears to be missing the correct 'version' of the library. This stops my compiled versions working on an older Ubuntu. I have upgraded to the latest versions of all the software on the older Ubuntu.

I have tried using "-Wl,-rpath,${my_sup_libs}" to try and force the runtime loader to load up the newer libstdc++ which I have included in the install package, but it does not seem to work. When running OCPN it wants to use the default installed version of libstdc++, and then fails due to it being 'too old'.

Is there a method of making this work? And, how are we going to package OCPN and the plugins for Linux when we need to support older versions which are going to throw errors?

I believe this issue arises as there is now a new version of the ABI which makes use of the C11 standard for items like strings and lists.

Thanks
Jon
__________________
jongough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2016, 13:58   #1866
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 3,991
Re: Beta Test / Technical

Jon...
This issue is nothing new - that's why we build the packages on Launchpad where the builders correspond to the target release so this kind of problems can't exist.
There is no other simple solution worth the effort AFAICT, but you can certainly try to turn off the C++11 ABI using -D_GLIBCXX_USE_CXX11_ABI=0 (More at https://wiki.debian.org/GCC5 ).

Pavel
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2016, 14:14   #1867
Registered User

Join Date: May 2013
Location: NSW, Australia
Boat: Richter 42
Posts: 874
Re: Beta Test / Technical

Hi Pavel,
Yeh, I tried turning it off, but then got other issues. I have tried all sorts of things with -rpath, but they don't seem to work. So I suppose I will continue to work on the newer version of gcc and try and keep a virtual machine around for building the 'beta' versions of my bits and pieces so that others can try it.

Can you give me a pointer to 'Launchpad'?

Thanks
Jon
__________________
jongough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2016, 14:27   #1868
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 3,991
Re: Beta Test / Technical

Jon...
Launchpad is the build service Canonical provides for Ubuntu, we have 2 PPAs (personal package archives) there - One for the beta releases (https://launchpad.net/~nohal/+archive/ubuntu/opencpn) and one for the production releases (https://launchpad.net/~opencpn/+archive/ubuntu/opencpn)

It IMHO makes little sense for you to create another one (But you of course can - my tooling is at https://github.com/nohal/Launchpad) - Whenever you want a release of your plugin, just tag the source repository and send me an e-mail and I will trigger the build in the beta PPA. Once the release is stable enough to be available to general public and replace ocpn_draw_pi 1.2, we will copy it to the stable PPA.

Pavel
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2016, 01:59   #1869
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 8,995
Re: Beta Test / Technical

Got a good inet connection. Git fetched ocpn current beta 4.5 master and built it for Windows. Tested it on MS SurfPro3, seemed very slow to me particularly with enc w/o opengl and with opengl.
I haven"t had a chance to really use it but currently I am getting hangups (not crashes) and blue spinners and cpu & mem use go up. Have rebuilt charts and will do so again tomorrow and complete the new enc prep button and then try it again.
Its not encouraging though. What are other users of win10 experiencing?
My laptop got similarly fussy and slow awhile ago and my conclussion then was that the problem was due to a win10 update.
But now I am not sure.
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2016, 05:44   #1870
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 3,901
Re: Beta Test / Technical

I am running the latest git version and don't see any slowness. All seems to work as normal for me. I have a low powered AMD A8 based laptop.

When I see "slowness" the first thing I check is used memory with the Task Manager (ctrl-shift-esc). Swapping memory in and out slows things a lot.
__________________
transmitterdan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2016, 09:42   #1871
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 8,995
Re: Beta Test / Technical

Thanks for the encouraging report Tdan, and the memory shortcut.
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2016, 13:34   #1872
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 8,995
Re: Beta Test / Technical

Using J.Gough 4.5 version, and completed "Prepare ENC Charts" and it seems to be working better, but the memory is still at about 1648mb. Turned off chart outlines, using opengl w/o texture.
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2016, 14:14   #1873
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 1,933
Re: Beta Test / Technical

Here up north it's winter time so no comfortable water sailing. It's time for desktop sailing instead.
For some radar tests and others I've updated my little simulation program "Send_NMEA_COM" so if anyone else could use it feel free to catch it.
I now use it to:
Receive RAHDT from the radar capture and via serial output from OCPN to control the simulated course and though follow a captured radar session.
Or.
Receive ECAPB from OCPN to control the simulated course and follow an active track. (The desktop sailing)
Download from here: https://github.com/Hakansv/Send_NMEA_COM/releases
(Both code and binaries are made for Windows.)
The image shows a simulation following a track via APB from OCPN. From the Dashboard panel you can see which data the program is sending. (All except water temp are "alive".)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Follow_APB.PNG
Views:	35
Size:	144.4 KB
ID:	137099  
__________________
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2016, 14:34   #1874
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 1,933
Re: Beta Test / Technical

Rick..
re: "What are other users of win10 experiencing?"
I've Win10 and recent 4.5 on a couple of PCs and haven't experienced anything like it.
Memory usage is 154 MB while running my above simulation. OpenGL is on.
Håkan
__________________
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2016, 09:16   #1875
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 8,995
Re: Beta Test / Technical

Hakan, do you think it is possible I have some bad outdated charts? I need to update the noaa CG district 01 charts for sure.
__________________

__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beta Marine Diesel michaelmrc Engines and Propulsion Systems 48 23-03-2016 13:44
Need some technical advice....antennas. Just a Tinch Marine Electronics 15 01-12-2007 15:57
Blue Sea Systems Technical Brief GordMay Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 0 16-03-2007 04:16
technical difficulties witchcraft The Sailor's Confessional 1 30-05-2005 14:09
Dow Corning Technical Manual GordMay The Library 0 12-04-2005 16:25



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:49.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.