Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-11-2016, 03:07   #1
Marine Service Provider
 
Herreshoff's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 174
AIS . Adding transceiver to existing receiver.

I have a vesper marine 750 ais receiver. Of course now I regret not getting the full package so I too can also be seen on ais.

Is there any way to add a transceiver to my receiver or would I have to get a new, all in one unit?
__________________

Herreshoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2016, 04:13   #2
Marine Service Provider
 
Herreshoff's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 174
Re: AIS . Adding transceiver to existing receiver.

Think I may have my terminology wrong here.
__________________

Herreshoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2016, 07:54   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 18,290
Re: AIS . Adding transceiver to existing receiver.

I have never see any add-on or extend options. You may be buying a new unit and keeping the receiver as a spare.

I will be buying the new SH AIS/VHF unit when it is available here.

http://www.panbo.com/archives/2016/1...ass_b_ais.html

b.
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2016, 13:57   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 2,669
Re: AIS . Adding transceiver to existing receiver.

sell your unit and buy a new one
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2016, 14:12   #5
Long Range Cruiser
 
MarkJ's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Australian living on "Sea Life" currently in England.
Boat: Beneteau 393 "Sea Life"
Posts: 12,827
Images: 25
Re: AIS . Adding transceiver to existing receiver.

Dont sell your Receiver.

One thing the chart plotters cant do is to receive your own transmitted signal. So you can not actually KNOW that you are transmitting (unless you call another ship or use the internet).

I have spoken to the OpenCpn people and the problem just goes straight over their heads. But i can tell you sommit... Every damn time i go off shore i wonder "am i actually transmitting"?


So keep your receiver and sometimes use it to receive your own transmitted signal to ensure youre getting out there




Mark
__________________
Notes on a Circumnavigation.
OurLifeAtSea.com

Somalia Pirates and our Convoy
MarkJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2016, 16:14   #6
Marine Service Provider
 
Herreshoff's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 174
Re: AIS . Adding transceiver to existing receiver.

Ok. Seems like it's not an option to add on. I've got to say the all in one vhf and ais is a pretty great option. Do you know when it will be released? I thought they already existed on the market.

Mark that sounds really short sighted of the company. Surely this is something everyone would require. Just a bloody red light that's on to show you are transmitting, at least!

I got my unit from vesper. They thought it was funny I was buying such an old model and actually didn't have anyone via phone there that could help me when I was wiring it in. I might try seeing if they would take the unit back if I upgrade to a 850 version. Worth a try! It was only $400aud at least.

I sailed Adelaide (sth australia) to Sydney last year and had too many close calls with cargo ships. After that I knew I wanted a receiver. To be able to see the big ships so clearly seemed like magic. Of course as soon as I've got the receiver it seems insane that I didn't get the transmitter as well so they have a chance to avoid me. After all, they are moving a lot faster than me. Sailing up the east coast of Aus this month so will try and find a solution soon. Thanks for the help.
Herreshoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2016, 16:20   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 2,669
Re: AIS . Adding transceiver to existing receiver.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkJ View Post
Dont sell your Receiver.

One thing the chart plotters cant do is to receive your own transmitted signal. So you can not actually KNOW that you are transmitting (unless you call another ship or use the internet).

I have spoken to the OpenCpn people and the problem just goes straight over their heads. But i can tell you sommit... Every damn time i go off shore i wonder "am i actually transmitting"?


So keep your receiver and sometimes use it to receive your own transmitted signal to ensure youre getting out there




Mark
I fail to see how that has anything to do with the plotter. the AIS isn't going to RX it's own signal. it's can't TX and RX at the same time. it'll shut off it's RX sensors when it TX's since it's using the same antenna for both.

that would be an issue for the AIS company not the plotter company.

I doubt they are going to build a dual antenna dual TX/ RX board transmitter just so you can test it.
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2016, 17:01   #8
Long Range Cruiser
 
MarkJ's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Australian living on "Sea Life" currently in England.
Boat: Beneteau 393 "Sea Life"
Posts: 12,827
Images: 25
Re: AIS . Adding transceiver to existing receiver.

Quote:
Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
I fail to see how that has anything to do with the plotter. the AIS isn't going to RX it's own signal. it's can't TX and RX at the same time. it'll shut off it's RX sensors when it TX's since it's using the same antenna for both.

that would be an issue for the AIS company not the plotter company.

I doubt they are going to build a dual antenna dual TX/ RX board transmitter just so you can test it.
Doesnt it TX on a different vhf channel?


(Let me just think it out...)



(Still thinking...)



OK, if you are right then its not the plotter mob. Still the valid point is to be able to check the TX works it would be good to keep the RX box too.
__________________
Notes on a Circumnavigation.
OurLifeAtSea.com

Somalia Pirates and our Convoy
MarkJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2016, 18:00   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 18,290
Re: AIS . Adding transceiver to existing receiver.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Herreshoff View Post
Ok. Seems like it's not an option to add on. I've got to say the all in one vhf and ais is a pretty great option. Do you know when it will be released? I thought they already existed on the market.

(...)
Nope.

What exists on the marker are VHF / AIS combo RECEIVERS.

This one will be a VHF/AIS transceiver. Just what you and me want.

SH is pretty quick from the show to the shop, so my guess is this is becoming available in 2017. You can ask them over email.

We have their VHF/AIS receiver onboard. It is flawless. It dials the AIS visible ships by the DSC. You simply highlight the ship you want to talk to and press 'dial it'. I love it. No more looking up mmsi on AIS screen then finger dialing it into the VHF! I always mis-dialed the numbers. They are just too long to remember.

Pretty cool.

They normally sell in the US up first and about half a year later in the EU. I will ship ours from the US.

Cheers,
b.
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2016, 18:09   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,681
Re: AIS . Adding transceiver to existing receiver.

Any idea of the expected pricetag when the new ones come out? ____Grant.
gjordan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2016, 18:10   #11
Registered User
 
Barra's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Western Australia
Boat: between boats
Posts: 918
Re: AIS . Adding transceiver to existing receiver.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkJ View Post
Dont sell your Receiver.

One thing the chart plotters cant do is to receive your own transmitted signal. So you can not actually KNOW that you are transmitting (unless you call another ship or use the internet).

I have spoken to the OpenCpn people and the problem just goes straight over their heads. But i can tell you sommit... Every damn time i go off shore i wonder "am i actually transmitting"?


So keep your receiver and sometimes use it to receive your own transmitted signal to ensure youre getting out there


Mark
I hear you! A sailing buddy of mine took his boat through the straight of Gibraltar at night thinking all was good as he transmitted his AIS to all the ships passing by. Found out when he got to Gib that the french electrician had neglected to wire it fully in and he was recieve only. False sense of security is more dangerous than none.
Barra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2016, 19:54   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 2,669
Re: AIS . Adding transceiver to existing receiver.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barra View Post
I hear you! A sailing buddy of mine took his boat through the straight of Gibraltar at night thinking all was good as he transmitted his AIS to all the ships passing by. Found out when he got to Gib that the french electrician had neglected to wire it fully in and he was recieve only. False sense of security is more dangerous than none.
it's easily checked at port with shipfinder or marine traffic app. not really any way at sea though. any installer should have confirmed this before leaving.
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2016, 20:21   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: French Polynesia
Boat: Allied 39
Posts: 749
Re: AIS . Adding transceiver to existing receiver.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Herreshoff View Post
I have a vesper marine 750 ais receiver. Of course now I regret not getting the full package so I too can also be seen on ais.

Is there any way to add a transceiver to my receiver or would I have to get a new, all in one unit?

We also purchased a Watchmate 750 as the 850 was not approved by the USCG at the time. A few months later it was approved and we purchased it. One of the best buy's we have made. That was 18k miles ago and we still feel the same. Bonus it has a terrific anchor alarm as well.

Sell the 750 and buy a watchmate 850. Its like night and day when matched up to the vhf /ais. Not even close!
__________________
www.jacarandajourney.com
chouliha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2016, 07:23   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 18,290
Re: AIS . Adding transceiver to existing receiver.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gjordan View Post
Any idea of the expected pricetag when the new ones come out? ____Grant.
SH tends to price their stuff very well from day 1. I would bet on a price point well below 1k.

ICOM AIS (tx) can be had at about 800, ICOM VHF/AIS (rx) at 500.

SH will pitch against the ICOM tx unit. But the ICOM unit has no vhf built in.

Hence I would guess more than 800 but not much more.

EDIT: found on the web: "... Recommended retail price: 839.95 including VAT. ..."

Awaiting US authorities paperwork approvals.

b.
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2016, 08:07   #15
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5,672
Re: AIS . Adding transceiver to existing receiver.

Mark...

re:
I have spoken to the OpenCpn people and the problem just goes straight over their heads...

We can talk again if you like. Not sure what the issue/request is here.

Dave
__________________

bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding wireless to a serial/USB AIS receiver Tenedos Marine Electronics 23 16-09-2016 09:06
Adding different brand instruments to an existing system Boat Boy Marine Electronics 7 09-02-2015 16:24
Adding Solar and Wind to Existing System Trevortune Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 2 26-06-2012 07:06
Insert existing waypoint into existing route? Beausoleil OpenCPN 16 17-06-2012 07:49
Can You Get Radar & AIS Overlay on Laptop ? AIS Transceiver Recommendations ? lunasea.ds Marine Electronics 22 27-12-2010 14:06

Advertise Here


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:34.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.