Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-12-2015, 07:51   #46
Registered User
 
rooiedirk's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Netherlands
Boat: Oneoff
Posts: 301
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

OK think I have the target scaling working for testing.
An extra entrance in the option menu.
In the config file the weighing of each used value can be changed, although I believe the default values are not to bad.
Code:
AISScaledNumber=5
AISScaledNumberWeightSOG=150
AISScaledNumberWeightCPA=100
AISScaledNumberWeightTCPA=100
AISScaledNumberWeightRange=100
AISScaledNumberWeightClassB=-20
AISScaledSizeMinimal=50
As default the class B targets are reduced a litle earlier then class A.

Coming to git soon https://github.com/RooieDirk/OpenCPNhttp:// Branche Ais-filter
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	AISfiltering2.png
Views:	65
Size:	148.9 KB
ID:	114239   Click image for larger version

Name:	AISfiltering3.png
Views:	59
Size:	22.4 KB
ID:	114240  

__________________

__________________
Navigation is know where you are and what to do to get where you want.
But also: Know where you don't want to be and what to do to don't get there.
rooiedirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2015, 10:36   #47
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,398
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

I like your 'smart alarm' for dueling ships turning in seas.
Perhaps we could add a check to see when the last alert was sent and have that user set?

I like the target scaling, looks good. Could we use the same approach for alarms and Class B?
__________________

__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2015, 19:00   #48
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,398
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

Can we discuss FS#1587 briefly - What should be done?
Close it? Guard Zone needed? It's pretty technical.

FS#1587 : AIS Alarm Target proximity alert - (should be closed)

Rick
Quote:
An interesting question is: how did the boat get into the CPA range without the CPA alert being triggered?
Perhaps the first AIS signal from the boat was not received until the boat was already less than 1NM away?

-- Perhaps they turned their AIS on at the last minute.

I think this should be closed.
Marco response to the same
Quote:
An interesting question is: how did the boat get into the CPA range without the CPA alert being triggered?
Technically this can be done when transmitted AIS data is incorrect. Theoretical situation: the target is south of us and moving north, but it's COG is 180... It IS getting closer, but CPA won't trigger as according to it's own data it's moving away. A guard range would notice this, CPA calculation won't. A valid question then is... How reliable is the other GPS data when COG is invalid? Cq. What are you actually determining when you raise an alarm?

Invalid headings are quite common. Heading sensors (gyro, GPS compass) that are incorrectly configured. But position, SOG, COG all come from the same device: the GPS. Heading comes from a different device. Heading isn't used in (T)CPA calculation.
Your thoughts would be appreciated.
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2015, 19:10   #49
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,398
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

Can we discuss FS#807 Briefly? - Marco has some information we should be considering.

FS#807 : AIS Alarm Reduce €œNuisance€ AIS Alerts

Steve B:
Quote:
When your own boat swings and yaws, alerts may be generated, but as the boat corrects, they disappear. In some cases it takes a few attempts to acknowledge them as they disappear too quickly. Then they reappear as new alerts and the process continues.

I suggest another way of addressing this ..... by having a damping factor so that it takes a few seconds of continued alert conditions (based on own boat heading and speed) before the alert sounds. An example can be drawn from the way radar alarms work to reduce false alarms. The first echo is ignored, and only when subsequent scans find something in the same location do they alert - at least that's the way mine works.
Marco:
Quote:
Damping doesn't sound like it will sove anything (sorry Rick ). GPSes should already send 'stable' data. That means position, COG & SOG should be 'stable'. Data derived from that ((T)CPA) should then be stable as well.

If a ship is 'jumpy', this is because it's GPS is either incorrectly configured (Kalman filter set incorrectly) of not suitable for navigational purposes (like a lot of mouse-GPSes; no filtering at all). See also FS#222 .
RooieDirk are the $2000-$3500 Class A AIS units significantly different than Class B with GPS in some specific ways? IE Kalman filters. What do you think? I liked the ideas you had above.
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2015, 19:30   #50
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,398
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

One more FS#1881 - AIS Alarm - Proximity alert

FS#1881 : AIS Alarm - Proximity alert

Rick
Quote:
Under Options > Ships > AIS
"No CPA if Target Range is greater than (nm)"
This is the same as a Radar Guard Zone.
This item should be closed now. Hotrod would you please close it now? Bdcat want OP to close.
Frode Lynum
Quote:
Well this feature has not been fulfilled, it only set a given distance not a area.
Look at the picture, the sones are the sectors at given distance for outer and inner part together with the width of the sector.

What has been requested is an alert when a vessel passes trough a set guardzone/area both no matter what direction the other vessel/vessels move trough that area.
So this is not the same as a radar guard zone.
What should be done about this?
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2015, 01:45   #51
Moderator
 
Paul Elliott's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,880
Images: 4
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

Marco said:
Quote:
Damping doesn't sound like it will sove anything (sorry Rick ). GPSes should already send 'stable' data. That means position, COG & SOG should be 'stable'. Data derived from that ((T)CPA) should then be stable as well.
Perhaps they should, but define "stable". I've got GPS units (including one on my Class-B transponder) that certainly show my COG swinging around as my boat yaws in the big swells. I typically put a simple smoothing filter on the COG before using it for AIS alarm processing (using NavMonPc's configurable filters).

As I mentioned, NavMonPc doesn't use ROT in it's AIS alarm processing, but that sounds like a good way to help filter out transient CPA/TCPA alarms. Class-B transponders don't send ROT, but Class-A units do.
__________________
Paul Elliott, S/V VALIS - Pacific Seacraft 44 #16 - Friday Harbor, WA
www.sailvalis.com
Paul Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2015, 06:29   #52
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,398
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

Thank you Paul, that is my experience too. We need a damper and I vote for your approach or RooieDirk's (provided it does not bog down the AIS with too many calcs). Class A and Class B may be two different instruments, but Opencpn AIS should be easily configurable for both uses. The "hockey puck GPS" have improved accuracy starting with sirf chips that surpassed anything before.
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2015, 06:32   #53
Registered User
 
rooiedirk's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Netherlands
Boat: Oneoff
Posts: 301
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

Running into a small coding problem.
When tying to implement a cycle for the AIS button on the toolbar, I need to add extra icons. I can make these icons as ...svg files, but does anybody how to implement this in O?
Couldn't find it in developers manual.
__________________
Navigation is know where you are and what to do to get where you want.
But also: Know where you don't want to be and what to do to don't get there.
rooiedirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2015, 07:10   #54
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,398
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

Jon ocpn_draw_pi has been dealing with this.
He had rotating buttons for awhile, then created a popup that seems to work fine.
He has two main buttons for ocpn_draw.
Perhaps you can look at his code.
I know he uses small jpgs that get installed.
I will leave a note on his thread about this.
Ocpn-Draw and Boundary

I believe Pavel is working on a new system when he has time, to convert all this to some other way of rendering button icons that is more compatible with all the platforms, which would also apply to all the nav aid symbols, but that is something in the distant future.

I see https://github.com/RooieDirk/OpenCPN now works.
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2015, 08:56   #55
Registered User
 
rooiedirk's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Netherlands
Boat: Oneoff
Posts: 301
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

Draw, that is in a plugin. For a plugin it is different then in O itself.
__________________
Navigation is know where you are and what to do to get where you want.
But also: Know where you don't want to be and what to do to don't get there.
rooiedirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2015, 18:18   #56
Registered User

Join Date: May 2013
Location: NSW, Australia
Boat: Richter 42
Posts: 883
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

The Draw plugin was originally coded into the mainline, but Dave wanted it extracted and put into a plugin, so that is what happened.

The icons for the toolbar are all stored in the same png file, toolicons_*.png, in the src/bitmaps directory. There are three of these files that have different icons to give a different look to OCPN. You will need to add your icons into these files then you have to tell OCPN how to find the icons. The styles.xml file defines the icon name, its location within the png file and the size of the icon. The icon is added to the toolbar by adding code into chart1.cpp/Frame::CreateAToolBar(). Look for "Hide AIS Targets" and use this as a prototype.

My original mainline code for boundaries is still around. If you want to have a look you will find it here:
https://github.com/jongough/OpenCPN/tree/boundary
It 'should' compile OK and you 'should' be able to run it. It is nearly a year old now so is rather out of date.

Hope this helps
Jon
__________________
jongough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2015, 21:46   #57
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,398
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

Thankyou Jon
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2015, 21:56   #58
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,884
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

Dirk...

We don't (yet) draw SVGs in OCPN. This is something that is being worked now, probably make it into 4.2.

For now, you will find some scripts that convert from SVG to PNG in the src/bitmaps directory. The scripts call inkscape to do the heavy lifting.

Example:
opencpn/src/bitmaps/32x32_svg_src/cursor/create_all_32x32.sh

These scripts are run manually against the SVGs, and the PNGs are stored in the git build tree.

Good Luck
Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2015, 10:28   #59
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 1,967
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

Dirk..
If you don't mind I'm curious and have tried to build your AIS-filter branch, merged with recent OCPN Git code, on Windows/VS2013.
No hurry at all but if you're interested I received the following error:
Code:
OCPNPlatform.obj : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol "long g_ShowScaled_Num" (?g_ShowScaled_Num@@3JA)
Hkan
__________________
Hakan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2015, 13:37   #60
Registered User
 
rooiedirk's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Netherlands
Boat: Oneoff
Posts: 301
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hakan View Post
Dirk..
If you don't mind I'm curious and have tried to build your AIS-filter branch, merged with recent OCPN Git code, on Windows/VS2013.
Ah a small slip. I can't check under windows, and under linux it is working, But I think if you change line 161 in OCPNPlatform.cpp into:
Code:
extern int                          g_ShowScaled_Num;
(is now wrongly extern long g_ShowScaled_Num
I will also update in git.
Dirk
__________________

__________________
Navigation is know where you are and what to do to get where you want.
But also: Know where you don't want to be and what to do to don't get there.
rooiedirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To filter or Not to filter... Marpessa Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 40 18-01-2014 22:10
Same Filter Part Number Totally Different Filter. Lagoon4us Engines and Propulsion Systems 3 10-11-2013 11:12
racor 500 filter what micron filter? quartersplash Engines and Propulsion Systems 21 09-05-2012 08:15
Filter Gasoline in a Racor Diesel Filter ? Sailorman Ed Engines and Propulsion Systems 4 04-12-2011 20:37
For Sale: Racor 500-Like Filter and Valves for Dual Filter Setup funjohnson Classifieds Archive 2 07-08-2011 13:52



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 23:05.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.