Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-03-2023, 15:26   #1

Boat: Looking for my first
Some Catalina pocket cruiser questions

I live in Montana and have been wanting a small sailboat for the lakes here. As you can imagine there are not many available and the ocean is a fer piece away lol. I have no real experience except a sailing class and I have no brand loyalty. I think I’d like a 22 but believe it or not it’s easier to find a 25 or 27. So my main questions are besides trailering being different wiukd it be that much more boat for a beginner to handle? I’d just like to do weekends and thought we’d camp on shore but I dunno? I will be doing another couple of more formal classes this summer and after that I’d like to buy but I like looking and dreaming and you k ie sometimes a deal comes along. Thanks we’re a couple with a nine year old daughter and a 12 year old dog lol. We will be sailing on flathead lake and several other lakes here. My dream is to someday do the inside passage to Alaska and then retire wealthy and tour the world lol!!! Probably just weekends though! Thanks Charlie in Bozeman Montana
Pinchecharlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2023, 15:45   #2

Boat: Mason 43 cutter
Re: Some Catalina pocket cruiser questions

Catalina 27 would be a great choice.
Rod Headlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2023, 06:13   #3

Boat: '86 MacGregor 25

You mention trailering, is the boat going to live in the water or on a trailer?