Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-03-2024, 04:40   #1

Project boat as first boat?

I've been looking at buying a boat for over a year now as a liveaboard cruiser, but am very dissatisfied with the market for various reasons. While I could buy a boat in relatively good condition, I am also less willing to lately because I'm honestly just not ready to actually start living onboard right this moment.

I've started to consider the idea of getting a project boat in my local area to have something to work towards while I get ready for the transition to liveaboard life. I am trying to be realistic though about my limitations: time and money aren't the concern here, my skill and aptitude are. While I do have basic mechanical aptitude and training, I have never done boat work before, and I'm thinking this could also be too big of an undertaking depending on the state of the boat. If I get a project boat I would want to do as much of the work on it as possible myself, only seeking a contractor when absolutely necessary (like installing a mast/rigging for example).

How realistic is this or am I just fooling myself and should I stick to the non-project market?
cupofjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2024, 05:36   #2

Boat: Tartan 40
Re: Project boat as first boat?

Every boat is a project. Don’t make it harder on yourself than it needs to be. Just buying a well maintained used boat and you will have plenty to occupy yourself.
malbert73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2024, 05:39   #3
Marine Service Provider

Boat: Benford 38 Fantail Cruiser

Having done three of these projects ... it will take you 6 times longer and cost you 6 times more than you think ... if you work on it every waking minute.

In the end the boat will be worth half of what you spent on it.