Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-05-2018, 11:45   #31

Boat: 1967 Alberg 30
Re: Suggestions for a pre-liveaboard boat.

Also, can anyone tell me if a Hunter would fit the bill? I have been generally overlooking them as I have heard from a couple of boat owners that they are not well built. But one these sources was an airline captain with a Catalina! Is this just the typical ford/chevy debate? I would appreciate some insight. I don't PLAN on being hard on the boat, but as a newbie, I'm sure that it might get knocked around a bit as I learn.
WingRyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2018, 11:53   #32

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobnlesley View Post
Not quite so many available in the USA as in Europe perhaps, but check out the Albin Vega. We bought one to do exactly as you're proposing and then after a couple of years ownership, thought what the hell and used it to go cruising; it was another eight years and with an Atlantic crossing planned before we traded it for a bigger boat.
I have heard a lot of great things about that boat! I have only seen one for sale so far, somewhere up in New England IIRC. The only drawback is headroom in the salon. But that wouldn't be a deal breaker, just a consideration.
Old 04-05-2018, 12:10   #33

Quote:
Originally Posted by MartinR View Post
Yes, on fresh water boats, inspect very carefully for blistering. Osmosis happens much easier in fresh water.