Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-10-2019, 06:33   #61
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Nynäshamn Sweden
Boat: Hallberg Rassy 312
Posts: 7
Re: OpenCPN 5.0 bug reporting

Quote:
Originally Posted by transmitterdan View Post
If you change VDRplayer.py to use sendall() instead of send() in the tcp code what happens?
1. Using UPD and sendall. It's works. No problem.
2. Using TCP and sendall.
-Test case1: Just OpenCPN window open. OpenCPN Freeze. Need to shut down OpenCPN.
-Test case2: OpenCPN-, Options- and Debug window open.
When closing Option window: I can see data i the Debug window. Sending data file, erik.txt, a second time OpenCPN crash.


Command:
python VDR-sendall.py erik.txt 127.0.0.1 10110 0.05 TCP


Code:
$GPRMC,092211.00,A,5759.09700,N,01144.34344,E,5.257,28.27,200715,,,A*58
$IIRMC,092210,A,5759.095,N,01144.342,E,5.5,31.1,,0.0,E,A*30
$IIRMA,A,5759.095,N,01144.342,E,,,5.5,31.1,0.0,E,A*3A
$IIMTW,16.8,C*1C
$IIVLW,2354.92,N,2338.533,N*79
$IIVHW,,T,25.0,M,5.9,N,10.9,K*78
!AIVDM,1,1,,B,13u=gHP3CWPlvs2Q8sHW:5fD0h6a,0*1B
$IIHDG,25.0,0,E,0.0,E*60
 $IIDPT,14.8,0.4,100.0*7A
erik.txt file


PS

I have problem including the code as I don't know how to fix indentation here. How to fix indentation?
oltronix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2019, 04:23   #62
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 6,008
Re: OpenCPN 5.0 bug reporting

Copy the .py file and add .pdf to the file name. The forum software will think its a pdf file. Attach the file to a message here.

TCP is usually only used when connecting OpenCPN to a data stream over the internet. There is never any point in using TCP on a local network. UDP is just fine for local work. By its very nature NMEA is resilient to dropped packets. But I have never seen dropped packets in a LAN running NMEA over udp.

Another advantage of udp is that you can send to multiple devices with one server. With tcp you have to have multiple servers or some kind of data repeater function.

When using tcp I recommend sending one NMEA message per sendall(). Don’t try to send a whole bunch of messages in one call.

Why do you want to use tcp?
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2019, 03:43   #63
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 6,008
Re: OpenCPN 5.0 bug reporting

I tried sending a longer list of messages amounting to about 5K bytes per sendall(). OpenCPN did not crash. It did struggle to keep up with the flood of messages but its buffering worked and caught up after the flood ended.

I suppose it depends on the CPU power but flooding OpenCPN with a huge batch of messages in one TCP send doesn't seem like a good plan to me.

If you attach your .py file but renamed as .pdf to a message here I would like to test to see if I can get O to crash on any OS.
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2019, 03:50   #64
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 6,008
Re: OpenCPN 5.0 bug reporting

Quote:
Originally Posted by oltronix View Post
1. Using UPD and sendall. It's works. No problem.
2. Using TCP and sendall.
-Test case1: Just OpenCPN window open. OpenCPN Freeze. Need to shut down OpenCPN.
-Test case2: OpenCPN-, Options- and Debug window open.
When closing Option window: I can see data i the Debug window. Sending data file, erik.txt, a second time OpenCPN crash.


Command:
python VDR-sendall.py erik.txt 127.0.0.1 10110 0.05 TCP


Code:
$GPRMC,092211.00,A,5759.09700,N,01144.34344,E,5.257,28.27,200715,,,A*58
$IIRMC,092210,A,5759.095,N,01144.342,E,5.5,31.1,,0.0,E,A*30
$IIRMA,A,5759.095,N,01144.342,E,,,5.5,31.1,0.0,E,A*3A
$IIMTW,16.8,C*1C
$IIVLW,2354.92,N,2338.533,N*79
$IIVHW,,T,25.0,M,5.9,N,10.9,K*78
!AIVDM,1,1,,B,13u=gHP3CWPlvs2Q8sHW:5fD0h6a,0*1B
$IIHDG,25.0,0,E,0.0,E*60
 $IIDPT,14.8,0.4,100.0*7A
erik.txt file


PS

I have problem including the code as I don't know how to fix indentation here. How to fix indentation?
I modified VDRplayer.py to use sendall() in the TCP section. I used your NMEA data above in a file called Erik.txt. I did this:

Code:
watch -n 1 python VDRplayer/VDRplayer.py VDRplayer/Erik.txt None 10111 0.07 tcp
This sends the same file repeatedly using one sendall() per line of txt. No crash or other problems observed.
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2019, 21:11   #65
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Sydney
Boat: Cole 43
Posts: 8
Re: OpenCPN 5.0 bug reporting

I have just downloaded 5.0 on my new Windows 10 laptop. All looks great, but do not have text, like place names, lights info etc. Downgraded to 4.8, which ran fine on my windows 7 laptop, but still no text. Any suggestions. I ticked the text box on the chart panel option menu.
RobCole43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2019, 02:40   #66
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Nynäshamn Sweden
Boat: Hallberg Rassy 312
Posts: 7
Re: OpenCPN 5.0 bug reporting

transmitterdan...
I'm using python3.6 and 2.7. Ubuntu 18.04. The TCP-problem is intresting but I can pass it by using UDP or socket.sendto(..)

Note: To read the pdf-file: Dowload it and change sufffix to 'py'
Attached Files
File Type: pdf VDR-tcp.pdf (1.5 KB, 35 views)
oltronix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2019, 04:47   #67
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 274
Re: OpenCPN 5.0 bug reporting

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobCole43 View Post
I have just downloaded 5.0 on my new Windows 10 laptop. All looks great, but do not have text, like place names, lights info etc. Downgraded to 4.8, which ran fine on my windows 7 laptop, but still no text. Any suggestions. I ticked the text box on the chart panel option menu.
The menu page accessed by "Options, Charts, Vector Chart Display", has a line reading "Important Text Only". If this line has a checkmark, the display of normal text is suppressed on a vector chart in order to make it easier to find bridge clearance heights (and possibly a few other very important imessages). Remove the checkmark to display other text.

Paul
.Paul. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2019, 12:47   #68
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 274
Re: OpenCPN 5.0 bug reporting

Quote:
Originally Posted by .Paul. View Post
The menu page accessed by "Options, Charts, Vector Chart Display", has a line reading "Important Text Only". If this line has a checkmark, the display of normal text is suppressed on a vector chart in order to make it easier to find bridge clearance heights (and possibly a few other very important imessages). Remove the checkmark to display other text.

Paul
RobCole,

If the line reading "Important Text Only" in "Options, Charts, Vector Chart Display" did not have a checkmark, or you removed the checkmark, and you still don't have text on the vector charts, here are some other suggestions.

These suggestions are for OpenCPN 5.0.0. (or 5.0.x)

Open the "Chart Panel Options" using the menu (hamburger) button in the bottom right corner of the chart canvas. Under the "Vector Charts" submenu make sure that "Show text" is still checked. Also, make sure that there are checkmarks before "Buoy/Light Labels, "Lights" and "Light Descriptions".

Under the "Display Category" is a selection box. Select "All". You should see text on the chart if the chart has text in the area you are viewing.

If you select "Display Category Base" you might not have displayable text. "Standard" and "All" should display text if there is any text on the area of chart you are viewing.

If "User Standard" under Display Category is selected, the display settings are specified in the "Options", "Charts", "Vector Chart Display" in the column on the right side of the window under "User Standard Objects" header. This allows lots of control of what is displayed (or hidden) on a vector chart, but it is also easy to omit important navigation information from the chart display.

Paul
.Paul. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2019, 14:47   #69
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 6,008
OpenCPN 5.0 bug reporting

Also, read the manual about hot keys like S and A and T. Maybe you pressed a hot key and turned off something.
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2019, 01:06   #70
Registered User
 
sisiutl's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Any ocean of the world-now in Pacific
Boat: Gulfstar ketch, 44' sv Sisiutl
Posts: 23
Re: OpenCPN 5.0 bug reporting

I am having a problem with the GPS USB staying active. It runs for a while then just stops receiving a data stream. I have used this configuration of hardware for years without this issue.



OpenCPN 5.0.0+9065270


Windows 7


I have two Globalstar GPS BU-353 and BU-353 S4


Both run uninterrupted using the GPS test utility from Globalstar
__________________
Bob and Alexandria
www.sailblogs.com/member/sisiutl
sisiutl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2019, 03:31   #71
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 4,742
Re: OpenCPN 5.0 bug reporting

Check the energy options of your PC.
Some options disable USB after a while for saving energy...
bcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2019, 04:02   #72
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Nynäshamn Sweden
Boat: Hallberg Rassy 312
Posts: 7
Re: OpenCPN 5.0 bug reporting

Quote:
Originally Posted by sisiutl View Post
I am having a problem with the GPS USB staying active. It runs for a while then just stops receiving a data stream. I have used this configuration of hardware for years without this issue.
I had a strange problem. OpenCPN has been in the air for 2-3 days without any reboot of PC or closing/starting OpenCPN. I'm using gpsd. Indication: No data to OpenCPN. No data from gpsd using ie cgps but data from gpscat was ok. So GPS was working but not gpsd. In the end I rebooted the PC. Same behavior, no data. In the really end I halted the PC and boot by the HW-switch on the computer. Then the OpenCPN and gpsd was working again. Using Ububtu 18.04.
oltronix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2019, 03:19   #73
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 6,008
Re: OpenCPN 5.0 bug reporting

Quote:
Originally Posted by oltronix View Post
I had a strange problem. OpenCPN has been in the air for 2-3 days without any reboot of PC or closing/starting OpenCPN. I'm using gpsd. Indication: No data to OpenCPN. No data from gpsd using ie cgps but data from gpscat was ok. So GPS was working but not gpsd. In the end I rebooted the PC. Same behavior, no data. In the really end I halted the PC and boot by the HW-switch on the computer. Then the OpenCPN and gpsd was working again. Using Ububtu 18.04.
It doesn’t sound like anything OpenCPN can do about this. Is it possible there is some power saving feature of the computer that has been activated? Are there any logs produced by gpsd or other services or interesting dmesg entries created during the failed reboot?
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2019, 12:50   #74
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 19
Re: OpenCPN 5.0 bug reporting

Hi everyone! I just upgraded to OCPN 5 release, and keep testing in real conditions. Beautiful job, anyway I want to point out something I'm missing now:
In Route Properties window it used to be a very useful feature to know ETA's to every WP during a sail trip, you just had to type "<" in "Departure Time" box to see ETA to next active WP in the active route (calculated at present speed) and to all succesive WP's (calculated at planned speed). This feature is impossible to access now because the "Departure time" box only allows for numbers, as it has now a date format input mask.
So, is this a bug or is this feature deprecated? If it is, I would kindly suggest to reimplement it, as it is unvaluable for on-route planning in blue water sailing... and the code was already there, working beautifully...
Anyway this future is still deeply described in manuals, so I guess it is a kind of bug.
antxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2019, 16:22   #75
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 17,634
Images: 2
Re: OpenCPN 5.0 bug reporting

to see ETA to next active WP in the active route (calculated at present speed)
Read https://opencpn.org/wiki/dokuwiki/do...console_window

Active Leg and full route data
https://opencpn.org/wiki/dokuwiki/do...ull_route_data

Aren't these features working? or was there a regression? I thought it had been fixed.
https://opencpn.org/wiki/dokuwiki/do...mark_manager&s[]=routes#properties
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
enc, opencpn


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bug reporting DDW OpenCPN 1 30-11-2018 19:34
OpenCPN.ini bug in 3.3.719 fgd3 OpenCPN 4 09-08-2013 11:15
POSITION REPORTING FROM OPENCPN sinbad7 OpenCPN 6 27-03-2013 05:54
OpenCPN 2.6.1215 bug HotRod OpenCPN 3 16-12-2011 05:16
OpenCPN Bug Report / Feature Request Tracker bdbcat OpenCPN 37 09-10-2011 02:15

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 15:34.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.