Cruisers Forum

Closed Thread
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-02-2013, 21:27   #1
cruiser

Boat: 50' Displacement F/B L.R. Cruiser
Modern Day Anchors

Hi I'm a newby on this forum. But I would like to share my anchor research, investigations and usage with others. I have been boating now for over 30 years.

Up until last year, being a one main anchor person (plus spare) I need a versatile anchor as such I have been a dedicated CQR person. Then after noting all the new modern day high holding anchors on boats around the bays where we become long term stayers in all weather I got curious and started to do some research.

Throwing away my old myth of what has worked in the past is the best for the future, taking into consideration I have only recently upgraded to a smartphone.

Anyway having extensive metals and structural fabrication and design experience I started my research with the following outcomes.

· Stainless Steel or Black Steel ? No brainer stainless regardless of grade is un-repairable as too much memory and if bent it will not ever maintain its straightened shape. Throw it.

· Concave or Convex ? For me again a no brainer, mainly because my anchorage is regularly heavy mud (crabbing). It is my view (and experience watching other boaties with concave anchors spend half an hour trying to wash the mud off, sometimes having to dig it off) that convex retains less mud on recovery than does concave. Further you fill a concave anchor with heavy mud it is no longer a concave anchor but a mud plug. You do a 180 when the tide changes the anchor pulls and will not reset properly. Also requiring something that works well in coral, foul (fishing) and firm sand. So for me Convex, even though in soft silty sand it may not be as good, but I do not frequent these areas.