Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-06-2021, 12:19   #1
CLOD

Boat: none
Chain Hook Choices

Time to make up a new anchor snubber. I have been using just a regular chain hook on my snubber for 10 years and it has never come off and is easy to use. But I have a Mantus chain hook that I won here on CF years ago and just have never spliced a line to it yet (I even since brought the plastic piece).

Is there any benefit to switch to the Mantus hook? It looks all sexy and much thicker than my regular chain hook. But it looks harder to use and I read somewhere (here probably) that it is weaker and/or that it appears to weaken the chain.
Old 10-06-2021, 12:46   #2

Boat: Tartan 3800
Re: Chain Hook Choices

If you've been doing that for 10 years, I guess I can disregard the advice to use rope to avoid wearing the chain.
Old 10-06-2021, 13:06   #3

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Bestevaer.

If what you have is working well I would not change. There is no perfect solution, but if trialling the alternatives then include a soft shackle in the mix. This is the best option for chain/snubber attachment that I have personally found.
noelex 77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2021, 13:22   #4
Writing Full-Time Since 2014

Boat: PDQ Altair, 32/34

Quote:
Originally Posted by sailorboy1 View Post
Time to make up a new anchor snubber. I have been using just a regular chain hook on my snubber for 10 years and it has never come off and is easy to use. But I have a Mantus chain hook that I won here on CF years ago and just have never spliced a line to it yet (I even since brought the plastic piece).