Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Liveaboard's Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-05-2016, 13:02   #16
always in motion is the future

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Sundeer 64
Re: Big storms? Stay aboard or sleep ashore?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stu Jackson View Post
Last October I got hit by an unusual front of HIGH wind, a half an hour of 40-60 knot winds with higher gusts in an anchorage I've been using for 25 years. My 21 hp engine barely kept me going and I dragged the anchor around for 10 minutes until I slipped into an empty slip.

It was VERY hairy. Flat calm to 3 foot waves with the tops being blown off them. I never saw anything like that before in my life.

You don't wanna be on a boat in an anchorage in those kind of winds or higher. You wanna be up the creek or off the boat.
Here's us in 60kt winds at anchor. The trick is not to drag the anchor. I remember we had hot chocolate and enjoyed the show
s/v Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2016, 13:06   #17

Boat: Van de Stadt 50'
Send a message via Skype™ to sy_gilana

We try to stay out of the way of really big storms. We have been through one of 103 Knots (measured by the met office nearby) and another of 75 knots where we were able to re-anchor twice when another larger boat was dragging slowly towards us, and we decided it was safer to move than risk him moving (badly). We have no insurance, and we are full time liveaboards. We stay and we practice the best seamanship we can muster. If, however, we found ourselves near shore, and in the path of a hurricane, we would probably do it differently. Each case is unique. Sometimes you are caught out.