Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-03-2017, 21:16   #181

Boat: 1962 Columbia 29 MK 1 #37
Re: Advantages to have a small boat

Quote:
Originally Posted by tuffr2 View Post
I may be wrong but I think I heard a wave 1/3 the length of the boat can capsize the boat. So a 60' boat could be capsized by a 20' wave a 30' boat could be capsized by a 10' wave.

Now, not sure if this takes into consideration the way the wave hits the boat. Or is this formula is for a head on wave?
AH! But a small boat can turn faster to face the offending wave sooner and punch it!
1962 Columbia 29 MKI #37
Don C L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2017, 21:52   #182

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisss View Post
Hi! I'm very new to sailing and i want to know are there any advantages to have a smaller boat than a bigger boat(bigger yachts cost more obviously), but is it easier to sail?Better to handle?
I'm not sure if I've even responded to this thread previously, but given my experience this past weekend I'll comment again, or for the first time.

I just bought my first sailboat. It's 27', and I've only test sailed it once with the most knowledgeable friend I could find on the day - and that wasn't much knowledge.

Over the past weekend, we went out with friends on their 1978, 47' Perry ketch. Let me tell you - I wouldn't want that thing to be my first boat even if it was given to me. They have two jibs, a mainsail, and a mizzen sail, and there are lines EVERYWHERE. Although they often sail as a couple, we had 8 aboard that night and three of us were working the sails and we were all worn out.

It didn't seem that hard to maneuver, but the sheer amount of lines, and the size of the sails was quite intimidating.
TooCoys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2017, 23:33   #183