Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-03-2017, 08:39   #1

Advantages to have a small boat

Hi! I'm very new to sailing and i want to know are there any advantages to have a smaller boat than a bigger boat(bigger yachts cost more obviously), but is it easier to sail?Better to handle?
chrisss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2017, 08:56   #2

Boat: Standfast 33, building a 65 ft Wooden Schooner
Re: Advantages to have a small boat

in general, smaller boats are easier and cheaper all around. The question you need to ask yourself is how much space you need to be comfortable. Smaller boats also have less accomodations, so it's really what you are comfortable with.

I think everyone here will agree that you need to do some sailing in various boats of various sizes and configurations before you buy anything.
Scot McPherson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2017, 09:07   #3

Boat: Valiant 40

They are considerably cheaper to buy, transport, haul, store, equip, maintain, repair, refit. They are cheaper to put in a slip (charge is by the foot, either transient or long-term). They are generally shallower draft so can go more places. They are easier to maneuver, and generally easier to single-hand.

Common advice is to buy the smallest boat that fits your needs, for all of the above reasons. People often buy more boat than they need and then are surprised by the costs of maintaining them.
Suijin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2017, 09:12   #4

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Location: We're technically refugees from our home in Yemen now living in Lebenon
Boat: 1978 CT48

Maintenance is certainly more costly the larger you go.. dockage costs more where i live..its based on footage..sails cost more..most things do..