Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-05-2015, 17:58   #1

possibly living aboard

Hi,
I am very new to this. I have been looking at boats and thinking I want to liveaboard. I do have boating experience but never lived aboard. So let me give you the run down with questions I have.
1) I am looking at 32-36 ft carvers, Silverton, etc around 1980's. I am probably getting the loan from navy federal for this (I don't believe they care whether I'm living aboard when getting the loan am it right?)
2) I am looking to live on it in st petersburg fl. So I have been very concerned with insurance. Can I get USAA (they use progressive) and just not state I'm living aboard? I'm wondering what the differences are when you state you liveaboard? I really need more info on this part.
3) I have found that marinas are running around $500 a month here. Pasadena marina, blindpass, st pete muni, harborage let me know if you know some more. Also what do marinas usually make you carry for insurance?
4) let me know what else will be helpful while I'm looking
rose93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2015, 18:38   #2

Re: possibly living aboard

Quote:
Originally Posted by rose93 View Post
what do marinas usually make you carry for insurance?
Most marinas will make you carry $300,000 in liability insurance. This should also include a higher coverage for oil spill liability.

Quote:
So I have been very concerned with insurance. Can I get USAA (they use progressive) and just not state I'm living aboard? I'm wondering what the differences are when you state you liveaboard?