Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-07-2018, 01:50   #1

Vinyl Wrap

Thinking of buying a yacht that has been vinyl wrapped. Anyone got any thoughts good or bad with vinyl wrap?
SailorWarwick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2018, 01:55   #2
CF Adviser

Boat: Van Helleman Schooner 65ft StarGazer
Re: Vinyl Wrap

Every Superyacht I know that has tried it in the Tropics, has removed it after about 5 years
Pelagic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2018, 02:01   #3

Boat: Volkscruiser

I hate vinyl wrap when it needs to be touched up after a scratch. A new piece stuck on never looks as good. I often wondered if it was my yacht would I just put an Emoji or some other funky sticker over the scratch?
As a surveyor I am not sure. It is a quick way to get a new look, but I often wonder what is under it? I have seen a grey vinyl wrap on a foam core cat that started to bubble! Turns out the core was wet. Bloody hard to fix without removing the whole wrap.
Cheers
Fore and Aft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2018, 12:08   #4

Boat: Better not mention, (it's a motorized sloep)

Dear Pelagic,

5 years aint that the to be expected lifespan of vinylwrao ?

I just started a post about vinyl wrap, Vinyl Wrap, anyone with actual experience - Cruisers & Sailing Forums, here i ask for reactions out of experience plz join.

Grtz

R
robregje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2018, 13:14   #5

Thanks for the comments, think I should be including price to remove and paint it my offer? Interested to get more feedback from anyone. Especially if in New Zealand where there is very high UV
Old 06-07-2018, 13:26   #6

Boat: Currently in between