Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-03-2011, 15:48   #1

Rio Dulce

Considering buying a boat in the Rio Dulce. I would fly down to inspect it first but was wondering if there are credible surveyors there as well? Also, I'm new at ocean sailing (lake sailed the past 6 years), so does anyone think I'm nuts for starting there as opposed to Florida or the islands? Have taken lessons out of Ft. Meyers and sailed to Key West and back..but that's about it on the ocean. Thanks in advance.
ironhorserider2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2011, 16:07   #2

Boat: Nordhavn 5740
Re: Rio Dulce

two concerns; how many/what quality of surveyors are there in the Rio Dulce (which you pointed out) and if the boat needs work/parts before going to sea are these available in the Rio Dulce?
gbanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2011, 07:05   #3
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)

Guatemala is pretty much the end of the line for Caribbean sailing. To where does one easily sail from there?

GordMay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2011, 07:14   #4

Boat: no longer on my Cabo Rico 38 Sanderling
Send a message via MSN to John A

Quote:
Originally Posted by GordMay View Post
Guatemala is pretty much the end of the line for Caribbean sailing. To where does one easily sail from there?
Indeed!!

If there were a low pressure area traveling east to west coming across Florida (Hurricane) you may be able to scoot to Texas.
John A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2011, 07:22   #5

Boat: Finnsailer 38