Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Destinations
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-10-2023, 08:50   #1

Early November Passage from Maine to Key West (Marco Island)

I'm planning a cruise from Maine to Marco Island FL.

1st if there's a thread on this already just send me a link please

I'm new to this and I know I'll ask a bunch of questions that have been answered ad nauseum here but still, need to know

I'd like feedback on

- resources for off shore weather routing
- provisioning suggestions / requirements (recipes .... 1 crew is a vegetarian)
- bridge passages in the keys, where to head north upon reaching southern Florida, my mast is 62.66 feet tall
- if I go ICW, where to avoid

etc
Centurion63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2023, 12:56   #2

Boat: Sabre 34-1 (sold) and Saga 43
Re: Early November Passage from Maine to Key West (Marco Island)

A few things.
First, it would be very helpful to add your boat to your profile. Saves people asking what I'm about to ask! What kind of boat do you have, how old is it, how long is it.
Are you planning on doing offshore or coastal day hops?
Solo or with a companion?
What is your general sailing experience level?
A lot of people here with a lot to share. But we need a better question.
sailingharry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2023, 13:37   #3

Starting from Maine in November is very late. Do you have heat on the boat? Inside steering? Many NE marinas will be closed and fresh water on the docks may be shut off and drained.

During November the first of the winter NE gales appear. These are especially dangerous along the NJ coast. Wait at Sandy Hook until you have a perfect weather window.