Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-05-2024, 15:45   #1

Boat: Catalina 27, Tall Rig Wing Keel
Wiring Diagram Review

Hello, I have attached a picture of the a wiring diagram I am working through for my boat. Hoping for any feedback on the high level layout before implementing.

I've also added a few questions below, let me know if I can clarify anything, I'm new to this so I could be way off on a lot of this.

1. I have seen that having an ELCI Breaker is now an ABYC requirement, my panel currently has a 30a thermal breaker (push button reset) for the main AC load. Do I need to invest in the ELCI breaker?
2. I am having trouble understanding what the wiring would look like if I added an inverter, I would ideally have the two outlets not for the battery charger be powered by the inverter. Anyone have information on this I can read into?
3. My diesel engine is currently pulled for a rebuild (using a 6HP outboard for power right now). Is grounding directly to the prop shaft OK? It could be a year or more until the engine is back in so this is a somewhat permanent solution.

A few other notes
- House Battery is a 230ah I just purchased from LiTime
- Charger will likely be the LiTime 40A Charger
- I don't have an engine start battery now but will have one later any considerations for that? I have a battery switch on my panel.
- I also have an AC Service and Reverse Polarity light on my panel I will use.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Small World Wiring Diagram.jpg
Views:	201
Size:	51.5 KB
ID:	289836  
new-to-sailing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2024, 18:34   #2

Boat: Former owner of a Valiant V40
Re: Wiring Diagram Review

Get, read and understand Nigel Calder's book on electrical first, then try, try again.