Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-11-2017, 07:36   #2041
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 17,642
Images: 2
Try to set Nvidia Program to use software opengl

In Nvidia Control Panel > 3D Settings > Set PhysX Configuration >
Select a PhysX processor: Choices are Geforce GT 540M, AutoSelect and CPU. I am setting it on CPU and will see what happens...

Seems to still load the Nvidia Geforce 540M.


The final try to turn off Nvidia hardware opengl was to use the separate applications settings, under "Manage 3D Settings" > Program Settings Tab > Add Opencpn.exe for 4.8.0 > then turn stuff off. First time I tried turning everything off and the Nvidia program stalled...

Then tried setting CUDA-GPU > None. It seemed to work, but the Nvidia was still loaded as shown by the log file.

So I am stopping this test as I have run out of things to try. Sorry Did-g, I'd like to test it!
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 08:21   #2042
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 17,642
Images: 2
Re: Beta Test / Technical

BTW
In Nvidia program "Restore" factory default settings Globally for all programs, caused OpenCPN to choke and result in lockout and a memory use error. By changing Ambiient Occlusion Off, Anisotropic filtering to x8, Antialiasing FXAA to Off, Antialising Mode to Off, Opencpn started running as expected.

I don't know exactly which one fixed it, but I think one of those changes made a difference.
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2017, 07:00   #2043
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 379
Re: Turn off Hardware OpenGL (using Integrated Intel HD Graphics 3000)

Quote:
Originally Posted by did-g View Post
Hi,
I will look at how Qt do it and try to build an openCPN version with appveyor
Hi,

Could be that system opengl32 dll is already loaded by another software.
I've tested on W7 et W10 with low end Intel graphic and CPU, seems to work fine.

Doing the Qt way doesn't seem too hard but you have to change and recompile Wx a little.

I managed to build opencpn with appveyor from a github repo, sort off, but it won't cut it for that kind of work.

I've read how to compile O on Windows and, well is Windows dev that bad? After downloading gigabytes of stuff free 'community' C++ compiler claims it expired and so on, I'm too old for that kind of BS, won't do it.

Is compiling with mingw still working?

BTW what is your workflow with weatherfax, radio or Internet download?
did-g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2017, 17:39   #2044
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 17,642
Images: 2
Re: Beta Test / Technical

did-g,
I can compile Opencpn and PI for windows. PI as standalone and integrated.
I am using TDan's BatchUtil for Opencpn compiling. I use Visual Studio, did try mingw with Sean years ago. Did setup and have Linux in VirtualBox for a while.

Are you suggesting to compile a special version that uses the opengl32.dll?
How would I get that driver included in the code?
I did some programming in College and Pascal (procedural) for Architectural CAD Macros, but C++ is another world.
Could you talk me through the necessary additions/changes for that?

Then I will do it. Best.
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2017, 06:40   #2045
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 379
Re: Beta Test / Technical

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgleason View Post
did-g,
I can compile Opencpn and PI for windows. PI as standalone and integrated.
I am using TDan's BatchUtil for Opencpn compiling. I use Visual Studio, did try mingw with Sean years ago. Did setup and have Linux in VirtualBox for a while.

Are you suggesting to compile a special version that uses the opengl32.dll?
How would I get that driver included in the code?
I did some programming in College and Pascal (procedural) for Architectural CAD Macros, but C++ is another world.
Could you talk me through the necessary additions/changes for that?

Then I will do it. Best.
Hi,

Last time I did work on windows was 20 years ago but in my understanding if an opengl32.dll is already loaded windows dynamic loader will use it when starting opencpn, if not it will look at dll in various places one being the opencpn.exe directory.
cf:
https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/lib...(v=vs.85).aspx

https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/lib...(v=vs.85).aspx

and so on.


If we want to be able to always load our own opengl dll we have to do it manually by:
1) not using opengl32.dll name

2) not linking against opengl library when compiling opencpn, this one mean we can't use stock wxWidget (it's linking with opengl for us).

3) at run time either load windows opengl32.dll or our OCPN_opengl.dll.

Point 2) is an issue, ideally it should be backport in wxWidget.

On the other hand maybe there's some way to do it like on unix ie:
LD_PRELOAD=./libopengl.so ./opencpn

On msdn they wrote about manifest, side by side, whatever
cf:
https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/lib...(v=vs.85).aspx

BTW what's in your :
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Contro l\Session Manager\KnownDLLs

did-g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2017, 19:58   #2046
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 17,642
Images: 2
Re: Beta Test / Technical

Did-g
1. I don't find ocpn_opengl32.dll in the OpenCPN 4.8.0 directory & subs.
2. KnownDLL's is attached below.

Thank you for fixing some of the leaks in wxfax!
Attached Files
File Type: doc KnownDLLs.reg.doc (1.8 KB, 50 views)
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2017, 05:58   #2047
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 17,642
Images: 2
Re: Beta Test / Technical

did-g

I am thinking that I would possibly need to compile a special version of opencpn with the software opengl32.dll, so I looked to try to understand how it works. The only file I could find was in C:\Users\Rick\Documents\GitHub\OpenCPN\buildwin ocpn_gltest1.exe which just tests opengl capability.

If someone who programs for windows can tell me what to do, I'd be glad to test did-g's opengl32.dll but at the moment it is not loading.
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2017, 06:37   #2048
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: France/UK
Boat: Gib'Sea 402
Posts: 547
Re: Beta Test / Technical

I followed did-g's instructions and the software ran right away in Windows 10, as I reported in my post #2027.

Here is an extract from my log file:-

12:41:15 PM: Creating glChartCanvas
12:41:15 PM: Metrics: m_display_size_mm: 304 wxDisplaySize: 1280:800
12:41:15 PM: OpenGL-> Renderer String: Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe (LLVM 3.6, 128 bits)
12:41:15 PM: OpenGL-> Version reported: 3.0 Mesa 11.2.2
12:41:15 PM: OpenGL-> Texture rectangle format: de1
12:41:15 PM: OpenGL-> Using Vertexbuffer Objects
12:41:15 PM: OpenGL-> Using Framebuffer Objects
12:41:15 PM: OpenGL-> Using FBO Stencil buffer
12:41:15 PM: OpenGL-> Using Depth buffer clipping
12:41:15 PM: OpenGL-> Not Using compression
12:41:15 PM: OpenGL-> Minimum cartographic line width: 1.0
12:41:15 PM: OpenGL-> Minimum symbol line width: 1.0

It shows that opengl32.dll did indeed load and run.

Again, as reported there wasn't much difference in performance either way.
hoolie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2017, 14:30   #2049
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 17,642
Images: 2
Re: Beta Test / Technical

Hoolie,
Thanks. I followed the instructions and it did not work. Your confirmation and log drove that home. Guess there's nothing more to try.

http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/....php?p=2498957
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2017, 11:51   #2050
Registered User
 
travellerw's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Martinique
Boat: Fortuna Island Spirit 40
Posts: 2,298
Re: Turn off Hardware OpenGL (using Integrated Intel HD Graphics 3000)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgleason View Post
I've tried searching Windows 10 Settings for "Opengl" and "Graphics" and I am just directed to the Intel HD Graphics Program (properties) where there appears to be no way to control use of opengl.

Intel HD 3000 drivers support OpenGL 3.1 (from Intel website)

I will change over to using my Nvidia Geforce Adapter which is faster and see if this is a feature selection in their software.

This is in order to use Did-g's opengl32.dll Software OpenGL with OpenCPN 4.8.0.

Anyone have any ideas how to do this?
I've really been struggling with my Intel HD 3000 card on Windows 10 X64. I came across this thread and it lead me to try a few things. In the end, I actually found a OpenGL.dll (software OpenGL) that was built for an old game. I downloaded that dll and put it in the OpenCPN directory. After that, I was able to use openCPN with OpenGL turned on (however texture cache doesn't work).

OpenCPN is now at least usable at about 15 frames per second using CM93 charts. May be worth a try for anyone with older Intel HD cards. Here is the download link to the DLL.

https://cristianadam.eu/20150514/gri...go-remastered/
travellerw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2017, 22:54   #2051
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 379
Re: Turn off Hardware OpenGL (using Integrated Intel HD Graphics 3000)

Quote:
Originally Posted by travellerw View Post
I've really been struggling with my Intel HD 3000 card on Windows 10 X64. I came across this thread and it lead me to try a few things. In the end, I actually found a OpenGL.dll (software OpenGL) that was built for an old game. I downloaded that dll and put it in the OpenCPN directory. After that, I was able to use openCPN with OpenGL turned on (however texture cache doesn't work).

OpenCPN is now at least usable at about 15 frames per second using CM93 charts. May be worth a try for anyone with older Intel HD cards. Here is the download link to the DLL.

https://cristianadam.eu/20150514/gri...go-remastered/
Hi,

What is your screen resolution?
What plugins are you using (radar overlay)?

Thanks
did-g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2017, 23:13   #2052
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 379
Re: Beta Test / Technical

setlocale is a dangerous function.
it's global but internally opencpn is expecting LC_NUMERIC with '.' first image is a VDR replay (via network not VDR plugin).

second is the same replay after a plugin used setlocale.

Boat on screen and track are off by up to one nautical (mixed up between ',' and '.')

We must do something.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture du 2017-11-19 19:17:29.png
Views:	77
Size:	104.0 KB
ID:	159437   Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture du 2017-11-19 19:15:28.png
Views:	75
Size:	96.9 KB
ID:	159438  

did-g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2017, 02:41   #2053
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 4,154
Re: Beta Test / Technical

For info:
I've Intel HD 3000 card on Windows 10 X64 wo any significant problem these days. I use the radar_pi a lot. What I did after Win10 upgrade, from W7, was to change to a video card driver from W7 (or 8, don't remember) and locked the update for that driver.
I've a Intel driver 9.17.10.4459 from 2016-05-19.
To prevent further updates: https://www.howtogeek.com/263851/how...cific-drivers/

From my log file:

Code:
17:02:40: Metrics:  m_display_size_mm: 309     wxDisplaySize:  1366:768   
17:02:40: OpenGL-> Renderer String: Intel(R) HD Graphics 3000
17:02:40: OpenGL-> Version reported:  3.1.0 - Build 9.17.10.4459
17:02:40: OpenGL-> Detected Intel renderer, disabling stencil buffer
17:02:40: OpenGL-> Texture rectangle format: de1
17:02:40: OpenGL-> glGenerateMipmap unavailable
17:02:40: OpenGL-> Detected Windows Intel renderer, disabling Vertexbuffer Objects
17:02:40: OpenGL-> Vertexbuffer Objects unavailable
17:02:40: OpenGL-> Using Framebuffer Objects
17:02:40: OpenGL-> Using FBO Stencil buffer
17:02:40: OpenGL-> Using Depth buffer clipping
17:02:40: OpenGL-> Använder s3tc dxt1 komprimering
17:02:40: OpenGL-> Compressed tile size: 128kb (8:1)
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2017, 06:52   #2054
Registered User
 
travellerw's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Martinique
Boat: Fortuna Island Spirit 40
Posts: 2,298
Re: Beta Test / Technical

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hakan View Post
For info:
I've Intel HD 3000 card on Windows 10 X64 wo any significant problem these days. I use the radar_pi a lot. What I did after Win10 upgrade, from W7, was to change to a video card driver from W7 (or 8, don't remember) and locked the update for that driver.
I've a Intel driver 9.17.10.4459 from 2016-05-19.
To prevent further updates: https://www.howtogeek.com/263851/how...cific-drivers/

From my log file:

Code:
17:02:40: Metrics:  m_display_size_mm: 309     wxDisplaySize:  1366:768   
17:02:40: OpenGL-> Renderer String: Intel(R) HD Graphics 3000
17:02:40: OpenGL-> Version reported:  3.1.0 - Build 9.17.10.4459
17:02:40: OpenGL-> Detected Intel renderer, disabling stencil buffer
17:02:40: OpenGL-> Texture rectangle format: de1
17:02:40: OpenGL-> glGenerateMipmap unavailable
17:02:40: OpenGL-> Detected Windows Intel renderer, disabling Vertexbuffer Objects
17:02:40: OpenGL-> Vertexbuffer Objects unavailable
17:02:40: OpenGL-> Using Framebuffer Objects
17:02:40: OpenGL-> Using FBO Stencil buffer
17:02:40: OpenGL-> Using Depth buffer clipping
17:02:40: OpenGL-> Använder s3tc dxt1 komprimering
17:02:40: OpenGL-> Compressed tile size: 128kb (8:1)
I will source that exact driver and try it out. At this point I have tried about 4 versions of the driver and they all have the same result. My frame rate is about 1 frame every 5 seconds (no not kidding). The only way I have been able to get OpenGL to work is with the dll I listed above..

However.. I will source this driver version and test it out. I will report back..
travellerw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2017, 07:00   #2055
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 4,154
Re: Beta Test / Technical

More info:
And I don't use "Show FPS". It says 275 but everything is slower when checked.
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beta Marine Diesel michaelmrc Engines and Propulsion Systems 48 23-03-2016 13:44
Need some technical advice....antennas. Just a Tinch Marine Electronics 15 01-12-2007 15:57
Blue Sea Systems Technical Brief GordMay Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 0 16-03-2007 04:16
technical difficulties witchcraft The Sailor's Confessional 1 30-05-2005 14:09
Dow Corning Technical Manual GordMay The Library 0 12-04-2005 16:25

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 15:18.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.