Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-05-2018, 08:10   #31

Re: Emergency anchor light?

Whether a light was certified would certainly come up in court, but it alone would not decide things one way or the other. Lawsuits don't work that way.

If I was a lawyer, I'd argue that a boat left completely dark except for a single certified 10 watt incandescent bulb at the top of a 60' mast was effectively invisible to my client in a small outboard with a canvas top against the other lights on the shore. And that the anchored boat knew there were small outboards in the area and should have provided additional lights.

I'd also argue that the anchored vessel was violating COLREGS 2A. "Nothing in these Rules shall exonerate any vessel, or the owner, master, or crew thereof, from the consequences ..... of the neglect of any precaution which may be required by the ordinary practice of seamen, or by the special circumstances of the case."

It's hard to say if the argument would work but I'd give it my best shot.
CarlF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2018, 08:13   #32
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Island Packet 38

Sorry about want looks like a double post but isn’t, Internet was down here for a few minutes.

My whole argument boils down to something simple.
It’s not expensive or hard to use certified safety gear, so why not use such?

Just had my boat inspected by the CG Auxiliary to get the sticker in the hope that will make me have less visitors this year.
Wanna bet if I had shown him home made lights, I would not have gotten that sticker?
a64pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2018, 08:21   #33
cruiser

Boat: Ebbtide 33' steel cutter

Quote:
Originally Posted by a64pilot View Post