Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-03-2017, 21:54   #1

College Grad Looking for Cruiser

Hey everyone,

I am a college student looking to purchase a blue water cruising sailboat capable of doing ocean-crossing passages.

I am working part-time through school and full time during the summer saving EVERYTHING, and will be graduating with roughly $35,000 in the bank. I plan on working for another year, and then purchasing a boat for hopefully equal to or less than $50,000, and then spend the next few years outfitting the vessel and saving for living expenses to go on a multi-year cruise. I am not trying to purchase and outfit the boat for $50,000; the 50k is how much I would like to spend on the boat initially. I'm looking for a cruiser that's in the 35-40ft range and with a dive platform on the stern, ideally.

There are many hundreds of sailboats which fall in this range, but I want to know which models/brands make cruisers sturdy and capable enough to cross oceans, or atleast what sort of specifications (displacement, draft, freeboard etc.) are necessary for safe open water sailing vessel.

Any advice, tips, criticism or other is appreciated

Disclaimer: Im not jumping into this blind, and I certainly wont be squandering my savings before I know EXACTLY what I want/need. I just figured making a post here would be a good place to start, as I could get some information more specifically related to my situation.

Thank!
Vitulina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2017, 22:31   #2

Boat: 1962 Columbia 29 MK 1 #37
Re: College Grad Looking for Cruiser

Wow, well first of all welcome here!