Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Liveaboard's Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31-10-2015, 13:17   #1

Boat: Yet to purchase- as of 10-31-15
Trying to get started as liveaboard after divorce

Hi Everyone
This is my first time using this site. I am just starting out on my journey to establish a live-aboard lifestyle. I just don't know where to begin. I have some sailing experience, but not much. I have always dreamed of sailing around the world, but a 61 I would be happy to just live aboard, possibly changing ports from time to time and, with others I might meet, take shorter excursions to places such as the Bahamas. I'm quite sure I can locate a boat in Florida, or another warm coastal state and begin. I would love to hear from others for support. I would also much appreciate anyone who would be willing to swap phone numbers and actually talk.
Mark61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2015, 13:32   #2

Boat: CS36Merlin, "La Belle Aurore"
Re: Trying to get started as liveaboard after divorce

Get out of Michigan. 75% of cruisers I've met have been from Michigan. Most of them were from someplace opposite the thumb. (a Michigan thing). Go to Florida, hang around a marina. You'll soon be talking to cruisers or ex cruisers, might even buy one of their boats. You've got at least 20 years of sailing ahead of you if you start now.
Old 31-10-2015, 13:34   #3

Are you living aboard now?
Old 31-10-2015, 13:43   #4

Boat: CS36Merlin, "La Belle Aurore"

I do six months a year. Early December to late May. But I don't stay in marinas, couple of weeks to get the boat ready and then I'm off.
Old 31-10-2015, 14:02   #5