Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-06-2017, 22:33   #1

Boat: 1986 Sigma 41
Work as mechanic while cruising

My wife and I make some money passively but are about $1,000 per month shy of our target budget.

I am a boat mechanic, electrical focus. While cruising I plan to find work in anchorages along the way - just one offs by maybe hanging a sign on our boat that says 'Boat Mechanic $XX per hour.'

We haven't left yet and are unsure of how much work I may discover. I'm thinking I could easily earn an additional $500 per month. Any other opinions out there? I know this has many variables but if you were planning this, with popular Carribean anchorages in mind what would you think? Also, I'm thinking $50 an hour or thereabouts.

Thanks!
theglo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2017, 22:40   #2

Boat: Truant Triad 37 Cutter-Alaska, Leopard 40 Cat, Bahamas
Re: Work as mechanic while cruising

I'd be careful about that kind of advertising unless you are set up legally as a business wherever you are.
seahag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2017, 22:42   #3

Good point. Thx
Old 06-06-2017, 22:47   #4

Boat: Boatless

First you must be discrete when you work in foreign countries as without a work permit you will be acting illegally.

Second we help each other and I have never been charged by another cruiser even for extensive help.

If I tow you when your boat is broken down and going ashore will you pay me SeaTow rates? Or should I just claim salvage?

I am a doctor and on three occasions I have spent several hours organizing medical evacuations back to the USA, should I charge you for 8 hours of my time at US Doctor rates?actually I would not dream of charging a fellow cruiser!

"Remember, experience only means that you screw-up less often."
s/v Moondancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2017, 22:49   #5
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Wheeler Shipyard 83' ex USCG