Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Engines and Propulsion Systems
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-01-2013, 19:24   #61
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: 1990 Macintosh 47, "Merlin"
Re: I Tried to do a Search on Algae-X, but...

Once again, folks: I AM A MOLECULAR BIOLOGIST.

If you want to spend your money on snake oil, go ahead. As PT Barnum was purported to say (he didn't really, apparently): "There's a sucker born every minute.". Quick cures are always money thrown away, aren't they?

Here's MY belief:

Dose your fuel with biocide when you add it.

Keep your tanks full.

Use a series of at least 2 filters, one of which is a separator, like a Racor.

Clean your tanks of condensed water twice a year (we have clean out ports on ours).

BUY LOTS OF FUEL (ie, keep fuel fresh).

When evaluating products, step back, AND FOLLOW THE MONEY.

Finally: Don't believe everything you read on the internet. Including this.
bstreep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 19:33   #62

Boat: Alden 50, Sarasota, Florida

Many years ago, the Australian Parliament passed a law commonly referred to as the "incredibly stupid law" because it essentially criminalized the act of marketing aimed at anyone incapable of differentiating fact from fiction.

Maybe that's why this gadget isn't marketed there
S/V Illusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 20:17   #63
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: 1990 Macintosh 47, "Merlin"

Quote:
Originally Posted by S/V Illusion View Post