Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-02-2010, 18:02   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Durham, NC
Boat: 40 Caliber LRC
Posts: 146
Fuel Filter System

First of all, I am a newbee. Have learned so much in the last 2 weeks. Thanks to all who have contributed. During the survey of my Caliber 40, It has a 50 HP Yanmar. My surveyor mentioned that there was there was a drop in rpms during the sea trial. He thought it might be because of the fuel filter. He recommended a Raycor fuel filter. He said that this filter was designed to remove air from the fuel system adn my resolve this problem.

Question is this:

Is he just recommending a differnet filter or are there additional modifications I need to do to except the Raycor filters??
Bob
__________________

__________________
rnjpinz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 18:10   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
David M's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Francisco Bay
Boat: research vessel
Posts: 10,150
Fuel filters themselves do not bleed air out of the fuel system. Fuel filters catch particles and trap water. I don't know how he can know with certainty that air was the cause of the drop in RPM. A number of other things can also cause a drop in RPM.

Racor does indeed make good fuel filtering systems for boats.
__________________

__________________
David

Life begins where land ends.
David M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 18:14   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Durham, NC
Boat: 40 Caliber LRC
Posts: 146
He did not say that he was sure it was the problem. Just did not like the fuel filter system on board.

Bob
__________________
rnjpinz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 18:36   #4
Eternal Member
 
Chief Engineer's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: North of Baltimore
Boat: Ericson 27 & 18' Herrmann Catboat
Posts: 3,798
Not "liking" something means diddly for the most part.

Post a picture of your filter system
__________________
Chief Engineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 19:04   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Durham, NC
Boat: 40 Caliber LRC
Posts: 146
Perhaps I have written too much into this post so let me redirect. My fuel system currently uses Dahl fuel filters. I would like to change to Raycor filters. Does this involve just buying a Raycor filter or do lines and adapters also need to be changed?

Bob
__________________
rnjpinz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 19:07   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,901
Quote:
Originally Posted by rnjpinz View Post
Perhaps I have written too much into this post so let me redirect. My fuel system currently uses Dahl fuel filters. I would like to change to Raycor filters. Does this involve just buying a Raycor filter or do lines and adapters also need to be changed?

Bob
Dahl was bought out by Racor. Theres nothing wrong with that filter.
Changing to a Racor 500 will require some fitting changes. I'd have to see what you have to tell you.
__________________
never monday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 19:00   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
David M's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Francisco Bay
Boat: research vessel
Posts: 10,150
Racor has their own system...its more than just the filter element itself. The type with the filter element that drops down and inside are better than the spin on type filters.

__________________
David

Life begins where land ends.
David M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2010, 06:27   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Port Ludlow Wa
Boat: Makela,Ingrid38,Idora
Posts: 1,973
The Racor pictured above is a 900 series rated at 90 gals/hr. It's called a "turbo" because it uses angular acceleration to separate water from the fuel. The fuel is then routed through a filter element that removes contaminates including more water. The 50 hp Yanmar you have will pull about 1 gal per hour. This means that if you have a 90% clogged filter you will still have plenty of head room at your fuel flow rate. I have that exact filter and have installed an additional one and a selector valve to switch filters when the vacume guage indicates flow restriction. If you dont have a vacume guage, you need one.

Cheers
__________________

__________________
IdoraKeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fuel, fuel filter

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
'Baja' Fuel Filter captain465 Engines and Propulsion Systems 24 08-07-2009 16:28
Tell me about my primary fuel filter theonecalledtom Construction, Maintenance & Refit 8 31-03-2008 18:30
Fuel filter location rdempsey Engines and Propulsion Systems 19 02-11-2007 13:01
diesel Fuel Filter Charlie Engines and Propulsion Systems 7 29-10-2006 20:19
CAV fuel filter seafox Engines and Propulsion Systems 8 21-10-2006 02:39



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:05.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.