Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-09-2015, 10:20   #1

Sailing North in Spring

Hello All
I'm a newbie so apologies in advance if I screw something up.
I recently purchase a "new to me" Tartan 4100. The boat is on the East coast. I am planning on sailing south for the winter. Any advice on getting it back to Lake Michigan in the spring? I will likely end up on the gulf side of Florida by spring.

Will I be battling a heavy current heading up either the Tenn-Tom or Mississippi.

Any advice is welcome.

Thanks
sailawhile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2015, 11:18   #2

Boat: Gemini 105Mc 34'
Re: Sailing North in Spring

Welcome aboard! Generally the currents aren’t as much a factor as one might assume, due to all of the locks and dams; however, because spring is typically much rainier than the fall, the waterways experience many more closures, debris, and periods of high water and heavy currents (mostly against you going north). At any rate, you’d need to plan for a longer trek.

Most people who do the Great Loop head north up the East Coast to the Hudson River, Erie/Oswego Canals since the spring issues on those canals are usually over by the time they get up that far. Hope this helps…have a great trip!
Waterway Guide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2015, 11:51   #3

Thanks for the advice. Because I'll be in the Gulf in spring I was trying to avoid heading South and East to go North and West but that is why I'm posing the question to an experienced group like this.
Old 02-09-2015, 03:11   #4
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, sailawhile.

GordMay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2015, 04:41   #5