Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-08-2017, 21:14   #1

Boat: Swanson 42 & Kelly Peterson 44
Summarising NET current on a house bank.

Hi all,

I am studying at the moment, so, of course, my mind is wandering. And today's wander has pretty well stopped my studies in their tracks.

Here's a summary of the house 12v power system, starting with power inputs:

760 watts of solar, coming in through two separate controllers. (reasonably likely to reach this peak output from time to time as the panels can be all free from shade at times and all point upwards.)

360 watts (or, more accurately, 30 amps) of wind generation. (Only likely to hit that kind of power in 30+ knot winds)

100 amp, engine driven alternator, manually switched, so it does not have to run if the engine is running. (Hitachi, so unlikely to reach 100 amps for more than a minute or two, and likely to be fitted with a smart external regulator to slow it down if I find I need to do any significant charging with it.)

So, at any time it would not be unreasonable to expect battery bank charging currents of 100 amps or more, if I were to run the alternator during a sunny time of day.

Battery bank will be 600AH (or maybe 800AH) of pretty conventional lead acid batteries.(Currently a temporary 200AH bank)

On the output side I have no significant loads, other than a 1500 watt inverter that is only used to run the vacuum cleaner from time to time and the coffee machine for a few minutes plus the anchor winch, which I guess draws 50 amps. Fridge is very efficient and draws 4.5 amps, lighting is all LED, laptop draws 12 watts, etc etc. You get the picture, really not much power used on the boat and no big items like aircon or microwaves.