Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-12-2017, 10:26   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Port Washington, Long Island
Boat: J40
Posts: 69
Images: 1
ais - showing targets... help

No passing ships show up??? I'm using 4.8 and keep following the instructions to show ais targets. (tools > ships> ais targets). I'm doing this from my laptop (not on boat). I'm on the internet so I can open a ais site and get the ships of the world. I'm at home without gis antenna. Display remembers where my boat is but I get no "big ships" showing up.... thank, Flopresti
__________________

flopresti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2017, 11:58   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Ireland
Posts: 268
Re: ais - showing targets... help

Go into connections, enable the nmea debug window and post a screen shot here.
__________________

AedanC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2017, 13:13   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Port Washington, Long Island
Boat: J40
Posts: 69
Images: 1
Re: ais - showing targets... help

Hi ... I'm running opencpn from home... but I'm connected to internet... I have gone thru tools > ships > ais targets... I thought I'd be able to see ships via ais as if I logged into an ais page via the internet? thanks for your feedback... Frank.lopresti@nyu.edu
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	58
Size:	140.5 KB
ID:	160018  
flopresti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2017, 14:57   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Port Washington, Long Island
Boat: J40
Posts: 69
Images: 1
Re: ais - showing targets... help

Is my thinking wrong about getting opencpn to show ais info. I know the ais info is available over internet so I assumed that if my laptop was on the internet, the opencpn would be able to display ships using ais?? frank.lopresti@nyu.edu
flopresti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2017, 16:06   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 5,226
Re: ais - showing targets... help

Quote:
Originally Posted by flopresti View Post
Is my thinking wrong about getting opencpn to show ais info. I know the ais info is available over internet so I assumed that if my laptop was on the internet, the opencpn would be able to display ships using ais?? frank.lopresti@nyu.edu
Yes, your thinking is a bit wrong. a) There is no free source of AIS data feed on the internet with global coverage and b) The data from these sources are delayed by an unknown, very often dangerous amount of time - you probably don't want to be run over by a ship that is displayed half a mile away...but actually was there five minutes ago.

If you want to play in front of somebody else's house, you may try to connect your OpenCPN to
Code:
Host: ais.exploratorium.edu
TCP port: 80
If you are looking for a real entry level solution, the dAISy AIS receiver can be had for under USD 60.

Pavel
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2017, 16:07   #6
Registered User

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Elsewhere on the Water
Posts: 577
Re: ais - showing targets... help

If you just want to see vessel traffic, why not just use your browser to connect to marinetraffic.com? You can see ais traffic in most places in the world.
St. Elsewhere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2017, 22:18   #7
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 13,530
Re: ais - showing targets... help

Flopresti,
To test ais and see how it works,You can download a nmea ais file from Opencpn Beta File Thingie, https://tgp-architects.com. and use rguser, rgpass. to login. Go to the nmea folder and pick one of the larger sized AIS files and download it.

Then install VDR_pi, follow instructions and enable it. Then use the player icon to load the ais file. You will have to find where Own Boat is located and where the AIS signals are coming from in the world. Use right click center boat, zoom in.
__________________

rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AIS targets - show only targets closer than a defined range petter5 OpenCPN 2 20-05-2016 05:21
NMEA AIS Sentences with Tag block. O 4.0 Do not show AIS targets. Gilletarom OpenCPN 4 08-12-2015 10:35
Cpn not showing ais targets when not connected to routerr delcrest OpenCPN 15 11-08-2015 18:23
AIS targets but no position? Oceansailor OpenCPN 0 10-05-2012 12:29
AIS Targets Disappear After a Longer Period sinbad7 OpenCPN 86 30-04-2012 09:18

Advertise Here


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 22:45.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.