Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-08-2007, 18:15   #1
Registered User
 
Nauticatarcher's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mooloolaba, Qld
Boat: Islander Freeport 36
Posts: 396
Thumbs down Icom DSC VHF

I recently installed a Icom M422 DSC VHF and hooked up gps input to our simrad CE32 plotter, but no joy with position on VHF, Further research led me to Discover that VHF is quite specific as to Version of NMEA that it will read and that version just happens to be used by Garmin, who I think are tied in with Icom, pisses me off that what is a safety feature should be so limited in its interface capabilities,
Anybody else had this problem?
__________________

__________________
Nauticatarcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2007, 18:50   #2
Marine Service Provider
 
AnchorageGuy's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wherever the boat is!
Boat: Marine Trader 34DC
Posts: 4,618
I have connected Icom VHF radios to Garmin, Raymarine, Lowrance and several other GPS set ups with no problem whatsoever. NMEA 0183 is a standard used by just about everyone so not sure what problem you are having. If you are trying to connect an NMEA 2000 which is something newer and not compatible with all devices than that is a different matter.
__________________

__________________
Chesapeake Bay, ICW Hampton Roads To Key West, The Gulf Coast, The Bahamas

The Trawler Beach House
Voyages Of Sea Trek
AnchorageGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2007, 19:44   #3
Moderator
 
Paul Elliott's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,871
Images: 4
I just looked at the on-line manual for the Icom M422 (http://www.icomamerica.com/downloads...422_manual.pdf), and they say it accepts NMEA0183 "RMC", "GGA", "GNS", "GLL" as input. These are hardly Garmin proprietary, and just about every chartplotter or GPS I've seen (including Garmin GPS) can output an "RMC" sentence.

Since I'm bored, I also looked at the CE32 manual (http://cs.simradyachting.com/Index.a...y=Download,230), and it will output NMEA0183 "RMC". I think you've got something mis-configured, or mis-connected.
__________________
Paul Elliott, S/V VALIS - Pacific Seacraft 44 #16 - Friday Harbor, WA
www.sailvalis.com
Paul Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2007, 19:54   #4
Registered User
 
Nauticatarcher's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mooloolaba, Qld
Boat: Islander Freeport 36
Posts: 396
NMEA 0183 has quite a few versions,up to over v3.0, Icom is quite fussy as to which ones it reads, I understand interface was developed using Garmin V3.01 and unless NMEA talker sends datain identical format VHF wont recognize it.
Has anyone connected ICOM m4422 with simrad CE32?
radio works fine with Garmin GP72 handheld but dont wont to run that all the time just to keep radio happy
__________________
Nauticatarcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2007, 20:46   #5
Moderator
 
Paul Elliott's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,871
Images: 4
The Icom spec says NMEA0183 ver 2.0 or 3.01, and the Simrad spec says NMEA0183 ver 2.0 -- this shouldn't be the problem. The Simrad unit can be programmed to output other formats than NMEA 0183, so could this be your problem? Look at page 85 of the Simrad spec I referenced (7.1.1 Interface Setup).

No, I haven't tried any of this myself with these two units, but this is so commonly done, and the specs indicate that it should be possible, so I have to believe you've got some wires crossed, or the chartplotter set for some incompatible output.
__________________
Paul Elliott, S/V VALIS - Pacific Seacraft 44 #16 - Friday Harbor, WA
www.sailvalis.com
Paul Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2007, 21:18   #6
Registered User
 
Nauticatarcher's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mooloolaba, Qld
Boat: Islander Freeport 36
Posts: 396
Nothing like a rainy sunday to sort out problems.
We are all go now, what was happening was Iwas taking NMEA feed from NMEA out on AP20 autopilot which was replacing normal nmea data stream prefix (GP) with (AP) so yes required streams were there and Maxsea has no problem with different prefix, Icom VHF did so now Radio has its pick up direct from plotter and its happy and Maxsea can continue to talk to plotter through autopilot, talk a bit of playing around with Hyperterminal to figure it all out
__________________
Nauticatarcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2007, 07:49   #7
Registered User

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Delaware, Chesapeake bay
Boat: 1985 Gozzard Pilothouse 36
Posts: 20
I have had the same problem. I started out with an Icom m-127 VHF with DSC# programed by the factory. Absolutely "NO JOY" ( All the instruments Ray marine) Got Hooked up with an Icom rep. at the boat show">Annapolis Boat show. He said "I experienced this problem before, with the same set up" "We will resolve this problem by selling you (Deeply discounted) a new Icom 602 VHF." "I know that will solve the problem!"

What I recieved was a factory reconditioned 602 (OK with me if it works)
Hooked it up according to the Manual. Same result. I am at a loss.
__________________
Boko~maru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2007, 16:33   #8
Registered User
 
Nauticatarcher's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mooloolaba, Qld
Boat: Islander Freeport 36
Posts: 396
If you have gps hooked up to a computers as well have alook at datastreams using Hyperterminal and see what sentences are being sent, because i was taking my feed initially from nmea out on autopilot I di8dnt realize it was changing NMEA sentence prefix from GP to AP which radio didnt like although Maxsea didnt have a problem, when I tapped into data out pins on GPS for feed it was still GP prefix and now radio is Happy and so am I
__________________
Nauticatarcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2007, 16:43   #9
Marine Service Provider
 
AnchorageGuy's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wherever the boat is!
Boat: Marine Trader 34DC
Posts: 4,618
Boko, If you are trying to connect to a Raymarine chartplotter you need to connect the radio to the chartplotter direct using the NMEA cable from the back of the Raymarine display. The NMEA out on that cable hooks to the MNEA in on the radio and the other wire from the radio hooks to the sheild of the Raymarine cable. There are also two speaker wires additionally on some of those units so don't get them confused since they are not marked.
__________________

__________________
Chesapeake Bay, ICW Hampton Roads To Key West, The Gulf Coast, The Bahamas

The Trawler Beach House
Voyages Of Sea Trek
AnchorageGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dsc, icom

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
need VHF gelcoat repair and diesel repair converted to DVD schoonerdog General Sailing Forum 6 05-04-2007 20:23
VHF RADIO RANGE GordMay Marine Electronics 16 24-02-2007 10:33
What happened to ICOM IC-M2A? sneuman Marine Electronics 10 10-08-2006 23:25
H/H VHF jemsea General Sailing Forum 15 09-05-2006 03:04
VHF CaptJason Marine Electronics 2 29-06-2003 23:23



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 16:21.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.