Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Dollars & Cents
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-09-2023, 00:00   #1

Are there any Silent Yachts owners here?

I was wondering about upkeep, moorage costs and all the rest of it.

A lot of the marketing mentions drastically reduced maintenance costs for solar yachts in comparison to conventional yachts. I am a rank novice sailor so go easy!

All the best
Silverbach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2023, 05:42   #2

Re: Are there any Silent Yachts owners here?

If you are buying an electric boat to save maintenance costs you will be sorely disappointed. This is total marketing puffery. Right up there with a politicians promise to reduce your taxes. There might be other reasons to buy an electiric boat, but "drastically reduced" operating cost is NOT one of them.

Maintenance costs on the heart of a diesel drive train are not that high, if they are kept up with and in good shape. We have a Volvo TMD22 that is 26 years old, and with 9000 hours on it. Over the last 7 years, the maintenance costs for the engine have averaged $530/year with only one significant, non-routine repair.

Costs for the maintenance of the drive system (shaft, seals, prop, etc) are about that much again, but of course these are are the same no matter what kind of motor turns it.

Surely you do not think moorage costs will be different because electric motors are in the boat? Although if you use your boat a lot, and you are charging batteries from shore power you might be in for a shock with your monthly electric bill. Many marinas mark-up electric from the domestic rates. That's especially true in the islands where power can be very expensive.