Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-08-2013, 22:58   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sydney
Boat: Steel Roberts Mauritius 44 "Blue Bayou"
Posts: 9
Can I use 1" pipe to plumb head?

Hi

I want to upgrade my TMC manual toilet with an electric Raritan Sea Era conversion. I've noticed that the output on macerators is a 1" ID pipe. It this thing macerates the material then can I use 1" pipe on the whole system? Holding tank, Y-valves etc?

Cheers
Mark
__________________

__________________
KaptainKaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2013, 06:12   #2
Registered User
 
CaptTom's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Southern Maine
Boat: Prairie 36 Coastal Cruiser
Posts: 982
Re: Can I use 1" pipe to plumb head?

I'm no expert. That said, what I've heard is that you need something that will flex with the normal vibrations and movements of the hull and structure of the boat. Hard pipes will eventually crack, probably right where they connect to a fixed tank, head or pump.

There's also the noise transmitted to the hull.
__________________

__________________
CaptTom is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2013, 07:21   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sydney
Boat: Steel Roberts Mauritius 44 "Blue Bayou"
Posts: 9
Re: Can I use 1" pipe to plumb head?

Thanks for the reply. Maybe I didn't explain myself very well. I meant 1" hoses, not rigid pipes.
__________________
KaptainKaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2013, 07:24   #4
Registered User
 
psneeld's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Avalon, NJ
Boat: Albin 40 double cabin Trawler
Posts: 1,834
Re: Can I use 1" pipe to plumb head?

yes...my whole system is plumbed now with macerators at each head to holding tank and macerator to overboard is all 1" PVC pipe or 1" hose for turns..vibration issues.

for short term I had some extra 1" , thick walled clear PVC tubing that I used on one head...has been fine for 2 years. No problems or odor permeation. If I get 3 years out of it...at the price for that kind of tubing and ease to replace....I'm ahead of the game.
__________________
psneeld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2013, 07:44   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sydney
Boat: Steel Roberts Mauritius 44 "Blue Bayou"
Posts: 9
Re: Can I use 1" pipe to plumb head?

Thanks Psneeld. There's not much space so it should be easier if I can use 1" hose. The next problem is finding it. All the sanitation hose I've seen is 1 1/2". Same with the Y-valves etc. Anyway I'll keep looking ...
__________________
KaptainKaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2013, 07:46   #6
Registered User

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Boat: 40' Silverton Aftcabin with twin Crusaders
Posts: 1,590
Re: Can I use 1" pipe to plumb head?

PVC pipe is just fine! And don't under estimate its strength. 1" schedule 40 PVC has a pressure rating of 450 PSI @ 73.4 F. Many times in the past I have used PVC pipe to add to a pipe wrench for added leverage. I have NEVER broken a piece doing this.

But some caution here.... the fittings such as Y's and elbows are not as strong as the pipe it self. I have used PVC pipe for over 25 years for boat waste lines. First in my older sailboat and now in my powerboat. And my lines are long.

Another caution to consider is with the pipe diameter. Mine are all 1 1/2" schedule 40. If you are flushing with raw salt water, there is a risk of building up a salt like residue inside the pipes that will restrict flow. I add numerous clean outs just in case I have unexpected problems and later I changed both heads to fresh water flush which I find better than raw salt water.

There are several past discussions on PVC here in the forums. It is great stuff and it does not stink!

Foggy
__________________
foggysail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2013, 10:51   #7
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cowes (Winter), Baltic (Summer) (the boat!); somewhere in the air (me!)
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 19,757
Re: Can I use 1" pipe to plumb head?

Quote:
Originally Posted by foggysail View Post
Another caution to consider is with the pipe diameter. Mine are all 1 1/2" schedule 40. If you are flushing with raw salt water, there is a risk of building up a salt like residue inside the pipes that will restrict flow. I add numerous clean outs just in case I have unexpected problems and later I changed both heads to fresh water flush which I find better than raw salt water.
+1

Other than sinking, I think a clogged waste pipe is probably the most unpleasant thing that can happen on board. I think you would really be pushing your luck with 1" piping, especially if it is hose.

If you can possibly manage it, I would really stay with 1 1/2" pipe (which has more than double the internal area of 1" pipe!), and use real sanitary hose which is metal-reinforced and odor-impermeable.

Macerators are great, but they are not a total guarantee against clogging, and as the previous poster pointed out, they can get calcium-buildup sclerosis quite easily if people don't flush enough clean water through them after taking a leak.
__________________

__________________
Dockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
head

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 19:53.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.