Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-08-2020, 14:06   #1

Boat: Hinckley Bermuda 40
How to boat break a beagle

I’ve been sailing for 45 years and cruising with my wife off and on for 25. Assuming preventive measures (vaccines) are possible next spring, we’re planning to go out for three months or so .
You’re never too old for a new experience: we plan to take our dog. We’ve been getting her acclimatized- she knows our boat by scent now- and seems to be relaxed when we take her sailing, but we’re at a loss on the next steps of making a real sea dog out of her. Obviously the next step is overnighting, but the goal is to get accustomed to doing her business on an astroturf mat on the deck. She can hold it overnight, but I don’t want to make her painfully uncomfortable by extending a first mini-cruise until she just can’t wait thus forcing her. So how does one break through on this?
Old 12-08-2020, 14:19   #2

Boat: Cape Dory 28
Re: How to boat break a beagle

Step one is to break the careful training you have done that has succeeded in training your dog NOT to pee in the house (and by extension, your boat). Take a rag and safety pin and locate a cooperative canine of the opposite gender. Capture some pee (and poo if you are going “advanced”) and pin the foreigner's pee soaked rag to your astro-turf mat. Your dog will be affronted and and will need to re-assert its authority by peeing on that spot. May take an hour or so but we have never seen it fail.