Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Families, Kids and Pets Afloat
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-08-2010, 19:25   #1

Boat: 25' old sailboat
Cruising with a Toddler - What About Life Jackets at Night ?

Ok, this may be over the top. Do I need to jacket my kids when they are sleeping? I feel pretty worried on the water and want their jackets on all the time, above or below so what about sleeping? It would be impossible to sleep with one on I think.

I saw a youtube vid of a sailboat decimated by a whale that came crashing out of the water and landed on top. If this were to happen at night, you would have no time to put on your life jackets.

I am new to sailing, this scared the s*** out of me. seriously, what is best for below deck?

Thanks for the advice, this is a great forum!
toddsgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2010, 20:46   #2

Boat: Prior boats: Transpac 49; DeFever 54