Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Welcome Aboard > Meets & Greets
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-07-2015, 11:41   #1

Boat: Moody 419 CC
Greetings from East Coast Yankee newbie -

Hello all. I am fairly new to ocean sailing (2 years). Prior experience was lake sailing until I discovered the advantages and pleasures of ocean sailing. I have a Moody 419 CC, which I fell in love with. Lots of space, sails like a charm,, and meets my criteria to be 2x size of the biggest sharks in the area. <g> .

Learning the ropes- so to speak - sailing off the coast of New England waters along Maine, NH, and MA Cape area. Near future plans for NY and FL, and ultimately the Caribbean. Hope to learn a few things from some of the more seasoned sailors here.

I stumbled onto this site looking for information on storm jibs and am finding that opinions vary. At this time, not doing any long ocean voyages or plans to sail in hurricane winds, however, would like to be prepared if caught out in a storm unexpectedly, At the moment just using rolling furling/reefing sail when needed and do not own a storm jib. Would welcome any feedback.

Saiorse
SAOIRSE419 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 02:28   #2

Boat: Gemini 105Mc 34'
Re: Greetings from East Coast Yankee newbie -

Welcome aboard!
Waterway Guide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 02:41   #3
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, Saiorse.

GordMay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 20:25   #4
Marine Service Provider

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Quote:
Originally Posted by SAOIRSE419 View Post