Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Welcome Aboard > Meets & Greets
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-01-2018, 09:43   #1

Brand new to everything

Hello my name is Sota and I’m brand new to sailing and boat ownership. I recently purchased a hunter 33 Cherubini and it’s just wonderful. I have always had a love for the ocean growing up in Florida we did the stingray shuffle before we could walk. My uncle circumnavigated I the 70s and I’ve always wanted to go. Currently I’m bobbing around the Tampa Bay Area trying to learn the ropes. Currently the bones of the boat are in excellent condition. The hull, engine, mast, rigging and sails are in great shape. But I have no modern day electronics. Now I know they did it years ago with a sextant and a compass but it is 2018 and would love to modernize the boat. Looking for recommendations for all electronics, wind meters, to chart plotters, raft to vhf,, refrigerator to l.e.d.’s and any other useful Formation I can find. Thanks again I have been secretly using the website for information and now I’ve become a member. Feel free to drop Aline, give advice or just say hello. Thanks again for this community and all that you do.

Love and respect
Sotara Popadopolis
NativeSquall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2018, 10:25   #2

Boat: Boatless
Re: Brand new to everything

Welcome, I would be careful with my money it is very easy to spend $20,000 on a $50,000 boat to create a $51,000 boat.