Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-04-2015, 07:20   #1

Boat: 1974 Derektor Britton Chance 40
home port or not?

I am brand new to sailing. I sold my home and most of my worldly possessions and bought a forty two foot sailboat which I have been living on and learning how to sail for the last month. So far it has been beyond my wildest expectations. Currently I'm living in Solomon Island Maryland going to a local sailing school and getting a lot of sailing in with friends I've met at the marina. I do not want to spend another winter below 75°. I plan on leaving MD around October 1st at the earliest. The boat is already equipped to sail anywhere I want to go. My question is about a home port I'm thinking Corpus Christy Tx and then being able to sail Mexico, Central America and the Caribbean from there. Or is it just as easy to just keep sailing kind of island hopping. Looking for any comments from any experienced sailors on this topic. Thank you.
tnollr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2015, 08:02   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Pearson 422
Re: home port or not?

Hi tnollr

Not really sure how to answer this question. First I guess I need to make an assumption. You refer to sailing the Caribbean or island hopping. By island hopping I am assuming you mean Bahamas to the Virgin Islands and on down that chain of islands and by Caribbean you mean south towards Central America. Both are Caribbean. Central America is the west Caribbean the islands called the Lesser Antilles are the east Caribbean.

If I guess correctly then it depends so much on your likes and dislikes; what you enjoy and want to do in cruising. Kind of like asking a stranger who you should marry or whether you should order your breakfast eggs over easy or scrambled.