Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-02-2022, 14:54   #1

Anchoring

I am a rookie, just thinking about eventually doing the ICW in a small shallow draft craft. I have a question about anchoring along the ICW, and about anchoring anywhere in general, I guess. Unless otherwise posted, can a person anchor a shallow draft vessel anywhere, for example, in the upper Chesapeake Bay, or along the Virginia and North Carolina canal areas as long as it does not obstruct or endanger other vessels. Looking at nav charts, there seem to be many, many such areas where a shallow draft vessel would be able to cozy up to the bank and overnight.
travler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2022, 15:13   #2

Boat: Bristol 27
Re: Anchoring

Quote:
Originally Posted by travler View Post
I am a rookie, just thinking about eventually doing the ICW in a small shallow draft craft. I have a question about anchoring along the ICW, and about anchoring anywhere in general, I guess. Unless otherwise posted, can a person anchor a shallow draft vessel anywhere, for example, in the upper Chesapeake Bay, or along the Virginia and North Carolina canal areas as long as it does not obstruct or endanger other vessels. Looking at nav charts, there seem to be many, many such areas where a shallow draft vessel would be able to cozy up to the bank and overnight.
Yes you can cozy up along the bank but remember every vessel that passes by will give you its wake which depending on the angle your boat is at can cause quite a bit of rocking.

For a good sleep, it's always best to find a creek off the main channel, bay, creek, etc

This not to mention the weather.