Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-05-2021, 12:09   #46

Boat: Owner built 60’ Aluminum Expedition Yacht.
Re: Seems we bought a Project Boat.

I’ve been building boats for over 50 years and one of the most interesting was a day sailor specifically designed for wheelchair sailors. The Shake A Leg Foundation taught the sailing. TPI designed and built the boats.
I’ve taught sailing big boats to wheelchair sailors. One of the manatee crew is physically challenged but a better navigator than any Captain I know.
I’ve lost several friends at sea and also two when we were all children.
I try not to be judgmental but taking children on a boat is taking a passenger who cannot evaluate the dangers involved. I have a good friend who quit scuba after recovering children from a downed aircraft.
I’ve given you as much guidance as I know how with regard to this boat.
Please do me one favor.
Find a USCG Officer to inspect the structural integrity and safety equipment before taking any child or physically challenged person aboard.
What you do with your own life and money is your affair but please remember the USCG rescue swimmer who jumps out of a helicopter has loved ones as well.
Please think about that fact.
Captain Mark
Manateeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2021, 12:13   #47

Boat: Custom steel, 41' LOD

Quote:
Originally Posted by sailingchiro View Post
ALL BOATS ARE PROJECT BOATS and you don't fix or repair it correctly until the 3rd attempt. Just sayin. Good Luck in your boat learning.

Boat owners find working on their boat as a hobby. Sailing is what our friends and family enjoy. We just tag along to fix stuff.
Hear, hear! I wish more boat owners would understand this!
Scorpius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2021, 12:56   #48

Boat: 1979 AMF Paceship PY23