Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-04-2009, 09:05   #1

Boat: 1969 Morgan 40 Cruising Ketch "Lady Catherine II", 1973 Bristol 34 - "Our Baby"(RIP), Catalina 22
A New Baby - 'Our Baby'

Hello All,
Yup, I'm a noob. My best friend and I are beginning work on a new "baby". A 73 Bristol 34. But she needs a lot of TLC cosmetically and some structurally. My question is: She's moored in Tampa FL and needs to be moved to Corpus Christi, Tx. but trailering is not an option due to expense. She has some soft spots in the deck on the starboard bow running appx from center fore around the cabin to starboard for a few ft past the cabin leading edge (pic: area outlined in blue). Part of this has already been "drilled and filled" with epoxy. All else is solid. All the rigging is solid (standing and running),hull, steering and she sails well. We're debating on whether to go coast hopping or make the "big jump", but I'm concerned with her structural soundness in the bow during a crossing.

Your thoughts?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	4ea4_12.jpg
Views:	206
Size:	28.9 KB
ID:	7892  
Fishman_Tx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2009, 09:15   #2

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Location: We're technically refugees from our home in Yemen now living in Lebenon
Boat: 1978 CT48
Have you done a survey?
Hard to give this kind of advice from where I'm sit-in but I'd probably sail her.
James S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2009, 10:22   #3
Eternal Member

Boat: Simpson, Catamaran, 46ft. IMAGINE
I would have to agree with James. If the survey was sound, except for the soft spots. I would get her home on her bottom as quick as possible. One big jump, or some smaller jumps with some ICW thrown in.......i2f
imagine2frolic is offline   Reply With Quote