Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-06-2019, 01:46   #1

Yanmar yse8 black soot

Hi I'm a novice with engines and have a problem with yanmar yse8 it's running fine but under load say over half throttle the water from the exhaust turns sooty/black smoke .in neutral it's fine .. there's no difference in power or anything I'm just concerned about the black looking water last week I turned back to the marina because I'm not sure what the issue is..any ideas folks many thanks

Here is s video of the problem
Nuggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2019, 05:53   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Island Packet 38
Re: Yanmar yse8 black soot

Engine is overloaded, most likely from a dirty prop or a prop with too much pitch

It could also be a clogged exhaust elbow, restricting the exhaust is similar to overloading
a64pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2019, 08:26   #3

Boat: Parker Dawson 26

Wow, that's pretty impressive...

It's probably not overloading during the video there since it's obviously in neutral but quite likely you are building up exhaust soot at some point or another most likely due to a clogged exhaust elbow. I say that also because you can hear that the exhaust is a bit clogged as well judging by the tone. The original ones are cast iron and can get QUITE clogged. Such as this example here:

This will cause degradation of system performance...

Good news is there are stainless models available that really do work out much better.

That should get you right as rain to a certain degree.