Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-11-2020, 21:18   #1

Boat: Catalina 34
Atomic 4 vs. diesel ?

Hi, I am in a quest to find our first boat. My criteria so far are 1) sufficiently stable for Lake Michigan crossing, 2) large enough for our family of 4 for daysails and hopefully week-long adventures, 3) not so big as to keep expenses down, 4) make/model that are sought-after and easy to sell, 4) inexpensive- looking to spend 5~10k.

So far, I am gravitating towards catalinas 25, 27, 30, and for the price I am looking for, it looks like these are early 70s to mid 80s boats.

I have no experience with motors and don’t really know what to look for. In my mind an outboard would be ideal, but most of what I am finding have inboards. Either atomic 4 gas or diesel.

I understand it all depends, but in general, should I favor diesel? Are these old atomic 4 gasoline reliable?

I will check this Catalina 30 out next week, and if you see the picture of its engine, it looks pretty disgusting. Should I be discouraged just with that picture? To me it shows lack of care by the previous owners.

How would you approach this search? Engine first, the rest second?

I am kind of lost

Thanks a lot. Gus
GusC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2020, 21:48   #2

Boat: Jon Sayer 1-off 46 ft fract rig sloop strip plank in W Red Cedar
Re: Atomic 4 vs. diesel ?

Gus, you will get a lot of passionate replies to these questions... almost as polarized as anchors and hull numbers. So, here's my take on it: