Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Multihull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Closed Thread
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-11-2021, 10:37   #1

Boat: Lagoon 440
The Virgin Island's are open for business!!

Hello all
Just getting back from our second trip on Fly Bye our Lagoon 440.
These last three weeks were about as perfect as it gets. My wife and I have been sailing in the VI’s since 2005 and this was absolutely the best fall weather we have ever seen. Full moon diving with no wind swells or current. Absolutely absurd.
Spent three weeks adding new rubber mesh trampolines, bought a new dinghy and outboard, house batteries, jib-oh yes. It was a spendy trip but far worth it. We also went over to the USVI and shockingly it was pretty easy. We tested in JVD, by midnight they had an email sent, checked out at the West End after signing in through the BVI portal. Customs could not have been more helpful. Got our approval through the USVI portal and off to Charlette Amalie we went. It would have been easier to taxi over from a close anchorage but we decided to steal a mooring ball for a bit and check in at the CA ferry dock. Not recommended. Way to much ferry traffic and rough water. I’m told we could have done all this through the ROAM app but we aren’t that smart so please add what you know. Saved a bunch of $$$ on the USVI side on some things but also got a crazy deal on the outboard in BVI. Checking out was super easy and back in more of a process but very doable.