Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-01-2011, 14:12   #1

Miami Boat Show

Hello all.

I am new to this forum and wanted to introduce myself and perhaps solicit some ideas/info. First, I am a complete rookie, so please pardon any mistakes I may make. I currently am a powerboater, but am looking to mend my ways. My wife and I live in florida and dream of getting into sailing (back into for me, first time for her). She fell in love with a cat during a work trip to Bermuda and since then I have been like a dog with a bone on the idea.

We are heading to the boat show">miami boat show to poke around and climb aboard a few of the boats on display, but I had a few questions....

1. Do they let everyone on the boats or do you need an appointment?
2. Will the distributors blow off a guy asking stupid questions, as I am bound to do?

Any information you may have about navigating the show or mistakes to avoid I welcome your opinions. Feel free to start at the begining as all of our previous boats were bought via a broker, and this is our first boat show. Also, we are not buying, just collecting info this time.

Thanks
cruisedreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2011, 14:28   #2
Elvish meaning 'Far-Wanderer'

Boat: 56' Fountaine Pajot Marquises
Hello Cruisedreamer. Have fun at the show. You can see any of the boats but big, expensive ones may need a reservation. You just put your name on a list and then show up for a tour. It is usually worth it.

The brokers won't typically blow you off just because your asking stupid questions. There are a lot of us out there asking the same ones. Some of the guys do get tired of answering questions and may be short on their answers.