Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Multihull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-10-2023, 19:00   #1

Family thinking of cruising, new to catamarans

Hi all,
My family consisting of my wife and two boys (4 and 6) have been seriously considering cruising for some time now and the opportunity to do so has presented itself.
My wife and I have been sailing monohulls via lessons and charter for 3 years and we have comfortably skippered a monohull of 52 feet LOA. We now have the potential to cruise, as I can work from the boat very part time and make a good wage. However, it is abundantly clear a catamaran fits the bill for my work needs and our family's space/comfort needs. We have never sailed a catamaran, but have been on plenty (I know, it's just like staying at a Holiday Inn Express). We are in the process of scheduling ASA 114, but we also have an experienced captain who is willing to show us the ropes for a few days should we purchase one sooner if the right opportunity presents itself.
Our plan is to stick to the USVI/BVI region for 8 months minimum, as I need to be in US waters for work 5 days per month with the rest of my contract and this area seems to offer a good cruising ground for learning a new boat and getting started cruising (easy to take a passage to BVIs and be back in USVI when needed for work). When this contract is up, we can start journeying further.