Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-02-2022, 14:42   #1

Columbia 26 Mk II - Possible Purchase

Before I proceed, I just wanted to let you know that I am new to CruisersForum and this is my first post.

I have recently come across a 1968(?) Columbia 26 Mk II for sale - and at a generous price. If I proceed with this purchase, this would be my first purchase. There are a few things that I was wondering about.

- How much could I expect to pay for a marine survey on this? (I know, it varies from place to place and from company to company,)
- Will a marine survey tell me absolutely everything wrong/okay with it? There are some things that I would like to fix that I can see above the waterline with my naked eye.
- This particular one has an outboard well: are these produced in the factory, or aftermarket? If aftermarket, can this be reversed? would it be advisable to reverse it?
- Modifications on a sailboat of this age? I am talking running rigging and possibly upgrading to a roller furling. Standing rigging looks like it could be refreshed, as well. For the roller furling, I was thinking of upgrading to a genoa. Whether I go with roller furling and a genoa or not, it will need sails as the previous owner seems to have been in the process of putting a new mainsail on it but ultimately didn't. The headsail seems to be missing on this as well.
SailsCall78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-2022, 23:26   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Boat: 1976 Sabre 28-2
Send a message via Yahoo to roverhi
Re: Columbia 26 Mk II - Possible Purchase