Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-04-2006, 14:36   #1

Boat: Revenge
Tell what you wish you'd done when you started.

Hello everyone,
I'm really quite new to this message board and I definately fall into the wannabe catagory of cruisers. I am trying to collect as much information as i can about world cruising so that I can make my plans accordingly. I have no sailing experience whatsoever and I don't know the first thing about boats.
My idea was to have all of you fine people post the things that you wish you'd done when you were in my shoes. Anything from gear you wish you'd bought (or hadn't bought) to unfortunate mishaps that could have been avoided. Anything really.
It is my belief that no amount of reading or planning can replace good old fashioned experience so I'm hoping to gain from the infinite wisdom that you all possess.

thanks in advance,
Dread Pirate Roberts
Dread Pirate Roberts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2006, 15:52   #2

Boat: Tayana 48
I wished I'd sailed on OPB's (other people's boats) more. Take advantage of ANY opportunity to get out on the water (as long as its safe)...sign up as crew for a racing series (weekly beer-can races, etc), befriend an owner so you can go day-sailing, maybe even help on short deliveries. How about a charter? Either crewed, where they supply the captain, or bare-boat, where you do. Get a friend with experience to split the cost of a week in the Caribbean...you'll learn alot.